Resources and Services for OHSU Students

Accessing and Borrowing Library Resources

Anyone with an OHSU network ID and password can access and borrow OHSU Library resources.

Databases and electronic books and articles are available 24/7.  OHSU members are encouraged to access databases and other online resources from the Library's website where they will be prompted to authenticate with their OHSU credentials, which facilitates easy access to full text.  The Library also provides additional tools and services to support your information needs:

  • No-cost access to materials the OHSU Library does not own through our Get It For Me service, including journal articles and electronic copies of print materials.
  • An annotated list of databases for your learning and research.  Additionally, a brief list of popular resources is included on the OHSU Library's homepage.  
  • A link resolver service that takes you from an article citation in a database, search engine, or reference manager to the full text available through the OHSU Library's collection.  This guide walks you through the steps for implementing this in Google Scholar, EndNote, and PubMed.
  • A bookmarklet if you prefer to access electronic resources without needing to first visit the Library website

More detailed information about borrowing, renewing, and returning physical Library materials, such as books, are available on the Library's website.

Your Library Account

Library accounts are automatically created for OHSU students, faculty, and staff.  You can access your account from the main menu bar on the Library's home page or within the Library's catalog using your OHSU network ID and password.  Your library account lists your current loans, requests, and fines or fees.

More detailed information about borrowing, renewing, and returning library materials are available on the Library's website.

Textbooks and Course Reserves

To fulfill requirements related to the Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA), the OHSU Library requests and receives textbook lists each term from instructors and academic programs.  We post the textbook lists on the Library's website, including textbook titles, ISBNs, and retail price when available.  

To support affordable access to textbooks, the Library will try to purchase e-book versions of textbooks.  However, many publishers will not sell or license electronic textbooks to libraries.  In these cases, the Library purchases one print copy of the textbook for short-term loans, but this cannot meet student textbook needs for the entire term.

The Library also works with faculty and academic programs to serve high-demand usage of additional types of course materials through our course reserves collection.  Print course reserves are available for a limited check-out period and can be searched and reserved via the Library's catalog.  More detailed information about Course Reserves is available on the Library's website.

Requesting Materials Not Owned by the OHSU Library

OHSU Library's Get It For Me is the combination of services often referred to as document delivery and interlibrary loan. The service provides OHSU members with no-cost access to materials owned and not owned by the OHSU Library.

For example, through Get It For Me, students, faculty, and staff can get no-cost electronic access to articles published in journals that are not in the OHSU Library's collections and scanned copies of articles and book chapters in the Library's print collections.  Please note, textbooks cannot be requested through this service.

More detailed information about Get It For Me is available on the Library's website.

Clinical Certification Resources

The OHSU Library and some academic programs provide no-cost access to licensing test prep materials, including books, question banks, and flashcards. This guide provides descriptions and links to test prep materials available through the OHSU Library and other units.

OHSU Historical Collections & Archives

Historical Collections & Archives (HC&A), part of the OHSU Library, is the home of OHSU's collections of rare books, archives, manuscripts, and artifacts. Serving the OHSU community and the general public, HC&A supports education and research using these unique collections.

We provide a full range of public services to support access to our collections. We also promote diverse and engaging perspectives on the history of health sciences through our exhibits, events, and the OHSU Oral History Program.

Digital Collections

OHSU Digital Collections documents OHSU scholarship as well as the history of the institution and health sciences. The OHSU Library collects, manages, and disseminates various materials, including student scholarship, oral histories, digitized historical materials, and images for teaching and marketing.

By making these materials discoverable and accessible, OHSU Digital Collections supports the University's curricular and programmatic needs and enhances its sense of community and history. In addition, students can utilize the OHSU Library's Digital Collections for their research and learning and for sharing the scholarship they create. If you have questions about OHSU Digital Collections or would like to deposit your work, please see our Digital Collections Guide.