OHSU Library Tutorials

This video tutorial walks through the process of scheduling a 50 minute virtual (or in-person) consultation with an OHSU librarian.

This tutorial demonstrates the process of searching for medical literature using PubMed. It describes best practices for asking a searchable question using the PICO method, Boolean search logic, MeSH subject headings, and general search strategy. (Runtime: 8:20 minutes)

This video tutorial from the Oregon Health & Sciences University library demonstrates how to search in medical databases using the Boolean operators OR and AND. (Runtime: 3:24 minutes)

This video tutorial from the Oregon Health & Sciences University library demonstrates the differences between keywords and subject terms, what they do, and how to use them in medical database searching. (Runtime: 5:35 minutes)

This video tutorial from the Oregon Health & Sciences University library demonstrates how to use Google Scholar in concert with our subscription databases to help researchers find medical literature. (Runtime: 2:57 minutes)

This tutorial will walk you through the process of searching for and accessing resources that the OHSU Library may or may not own. This tutorial is most helpful if you only have partial citation information. If you have a complete citation, our tutorial on Using the Citation Search Tool may be the most useful to you. (Runtime: 2:27 minutes)

This tutorial will show you how to use the Citation Search Tool to search for and request materials that the library may or may not own. It is most useful if you have a complete citation – including a PMID, DOI, or ISSN number. If you only have partial citation information, please see our tutorial on Locating and Accessing Library Materials. (Runtime: 1:57 minutes)

This tutorial will show you how to log in to your library account, view your requests, and manage your loans. (Runtime: 56 seconds)

Guidance on how to use the library's Suggest a Purchase Form. (Runtime: 1:22 minutes)

This video tutorial will walk you through the process of reserving equipment at the OHSU Library. (Runtime: 2:04 minutes)

This video defines metadata, discusses how it connects to your DMS Plan, and explains why quality metadata is so important. (Runtime: 2:42 minutes)

This video defines Scientific Data and discusses its significance in relation to the new NIH Data Management & Sharing Policy as well as how it applies to writing a DMS Plan. (Runtime: 2 minutes)

This video provides an overview of the key changes to the NIH Data Management & Sharing policy, as well as a brief rationale for these changes. (Runtime: 1:57 minutes)

This video provides an overview of the Data Type element of the NIH-required Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP). (Runtime: 1:52 minutes)

This video provides an overview of the Related Tools, Software, and/or Code Used element of the NIH-required Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP). (Runtime: 1:51 minutes)

This video provides an overview of the Standards element of the NIH-required Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP). (Runtime: 1:40 minutes)

This video discusses the Data Preservation, Access, and Associated Timelines element of the NIH-required Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP). (Runtime: 3:13 minutes)

This video provides an overview of Access, Distribution, and Reuse considerations for the NIH-required Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP). (Runtime: 3:44 minutes)

This video provides an overview of the Oversight of Data Management and Sharing element of the NIH-required Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP). (Runtime: 1:42 minutes)