LibGuides: Research Data and Reproducibility: OCTRI, ACC, and ITG

Overview

Research data services are available from a variety of organizations at OHSU.

The Oregon Clinical and Translational Research Institute (OCTRI) provides informatics and research data services for clinical researchers.
The Advanced Computing Center (ACC) is a fee-for-service group that provides data and computational services for computing needs not met by enterprise IT offerings and that have no direct patient care dependencies.
The Information Technology Group (ITG) provides computing and communication support for OHSU's academic, research, business and healthcare projects.

These organizations and the Library may partner to provide data services to OHSU Members.

OCTRI Informatics Services
OCTRI's Informatics program provides consultations, access to EHR/Epic data in the Research Data Warehouse, a cohort discovery tool, other Epic-based research services, and custom software and database development.
Research Data SharePoint Site
A collection of clinical research data resources at OHSU, curated by the Research Data Concierge.

ACC Services
ACC provides a variety of data and computational consultation services to support OHSU research activities.
Amazon Web Services (AWS)
OHSU offers HIPAA-compliant AWS services.
GitHub Enterprise
ITG provides GitHub Enterprise to OHSU users at no charge as part of the GitHub Campus program. This application is hosted in OHSU's datacenter and is approved for all OHSU source code development projects, including Protected Health Information (PHI), but is primarily intended for academic and research purposes and is not for bulk data storage.
Exacloud
Exacloud is a unique computational resource that provides unique capabilities to OHSU researchers for supporting large-scale, computational and data intensive workflows.

Microsoft Teams with SharePoint Online
Microsoft Teams with SharePoint Online is OHSU members' primary cloud storage solution for team-, project-, or department-owned files. It centralizes management of collectively-owned content, ensuring no single individual owns the team's content. It is HIPAA- and FERPA-compliant.
Research Data Storage (RDS)
Research Data Storage provides long-term, large-scale, secure storage housed at two physical locations which provide optimal data replication and redundancy. It is provided in partnership by ACC and ITG.
Network Drives
The X: (group storage) and H: (individual storage) drives are available storage systems located on the local OHSU network.

Microsoft OneDrive
OneDrive is OHSU members' primary individual cloud storage solution. Use OneDrive for files you own personally and for collaboration with individuals. It is HIPAA- and FERPA-compliant.
Dropbox
Dropbox is a cloud file storage option, available by request only, offered in addition to Microsoft OneDrive – OHSU members’ primary individual cloud storage solution. Like OneDrive, Dropbox can also be used to store personal work files and to collaborate with internal OHSU colleagues and those external to OHSU. It is HIPAA- and FERPA-compliant.
more...less...
Each member is provided 5 TB of storage space in their Dropbox account.

Dropbox is not a shared centralized storage solution, which means when an individual OHSU member leaves OHSU, access to those files and folders will be lost.

Unlike OneDrive at OHSU, Dropbox accounts are available to OHSU members by request only and require members to complete a mandatory training to ensure sharing is done securely.
Network Drives
The X: (group storage) and H: (individual storage) drives are available storage systems located on the local OHSU network.

Individual vs Team File Management
This infographic from OHSU ITG can help you understand when you should use OneDrive or Dropbox vs a Microsoft Teams workspace with SharePoint Online.
OHSU Cloud File Management
This table provides a high-level comparison of OneDrive, DropBox, SharePointOnline/Teams, and Research Data Storage.
Request a Collaboration Consult
OHSU's User Experience team is available to provide advice on which file storage solution to use.
Restricted Information in Teams
This page provides guidance on storing restricted information in Teams.

ArcGIS
ArcGIS is an interactive mapping tool that enables you to connect people, locations and data using interactive maps. OHSU has provisioned an enterprise license for ArcGIS that is available to faculty, staff and students.
Qualtrics
Qualtrics is a survey platform used for academic or research purposes only.
REDCap
REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture) is a secure, reliable, versatile and feature-rich web application for building and managing HIPAA- and IRB-compliant online surveys and databases. Researchers can create and design surveys in a web browser and engage potential respondents using a variety of notification methods. Provided by OCTRI.
Tableau
Tableau is an application designed to connect to many different data resources for the purpose of creating meaningful graphs and charts and present them in reports or dashboards. This link describes Tableau licensing options available to OHSU members facilitated by OHSU's Business Intelligence community.