LibGuides: Nursing: Searching for Articles, Guidelines, and Resources

Searching for EBP Articles, Guidelines, and Resources

The short video below walks you through basic steps for effective searching in PubMed, but this is just the tip of the searching iceberg. The second video in the list of links showcases different search techniques. Schedule a consultation to get personalized assistance from library experts. OHSU librarians and staff are available to address and support your information needs, including literature searching and citation management.

Overview of Search Techniques: YouTube
This video also provides an excellent overview of additional and helpful database searching techniques.
Contact Us

If no official EBM review has been done on your topic, these filters and hedges may be helpful in reducing the amount of literature you need to analyze.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed and Ovid's MEDLINE both offer tools for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

CINAHL
Database with access to journal articles spanning various disciplines in nursing and allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
ClinicalKey for Nursing
A clinical reference platform that includes content from evidence-based nursing monographs, books, journals, practice guidelines, and core measures with nursing recommendations as well as Procedures Consult and Clinical Skills topics. This resources provides information to support nursing care in areas such as administering medication, managing nurse policy, monitoring for complications, and providing patient education.
Nursing and Allied Health Reference Source (formerly Nursing Reference Center Plus)
Nursing and Allied Health Reference Source provides evidence-based care sheets, clinical reviews, exercise sheets, skills with in-context images and videos, quick lessons and research instruments.
Clinical Skills (Elsevier)
An evidence-based database of nursing skills and procedures. The content is updated regularly to reflect changes in practice, and includes both quick and extended summaries, videos, checklists and more.
Davis' Drug Guide
Provides information on trade name and generic drugs, including information on dosing and administration, safety, interactions, patient teaching, and integrated calculators.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Ovid's MEDLINE and PubMed both offer tools for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PsycINFO (Ovid)
Provides access to abstracts of articles, books and dissertations in the psychological, social and behavioral sciences. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed and Ovid's MEDLINE both offer tools for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
Scopus
Citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents and journals.
SocINDEX
Database of sociological research. Covers sub-disciplines and related subject areas including social work, substance abuse, social policy, social psychology and related health topics.
Trip

Trip is a clinical search engine of evidence-based content designed to support clinical practice and care. It includes research evidence and other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Evidence-based guidelines are the basis for evidence-based practice. Below are a few tips on how to find current guidelines:

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) guidelines - "The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
U.S. Preventive Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations - USPSTF "is an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services."
Professional Organizations such as the American Heart Association, the National Cancer Institute, the American Psychiatric Association or the American Academy of Pediatrics may post relevant evidence based medicine reviews or practice guidelines based on EBP reviews on their Web sites.
ClinicalKey for Nursing contains full text guidelines published in Elsevier journals only.
To find guidelines in DynaMed and UpToDate, select a topic, then scroll down in the left column to Guidelines and Resources or Society Guidelines respectively.
Find guidelines in Library databases such as PubMed and CINAHL:
- In PubMed:
  - After conducting a topic search, use the Publication Type filters: Guideline, Practice Guideline, Consensus Development Conference, or Consensus Development Conference NIH
  - Or search for the topic and combine with a search for ("practice guideline"[Publication Type] OR "practice guidelines as topic"[MeSH] OR ("guideline"[Publication Type] OR "guidelines as topic"[MeSH] OR ("consensus development conference"[Publication Type] OR "consensus development conferences as topic"[MeSH])
- In CINAHL:
  - Search the topic and click on Edit to the right of the results in search history, then select Practice Guideline as a Publication Type.
  - Or combine your topic search with a search for the CINAHL heading - Practice Guidelines.

All of the resources above are linked to below.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Guidelines
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
U.S. Preventive Task Force (USPSTF)
USPSTF "is an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services."
American Heart Association
American Psychiatric Association
National Cancer Institute
American Academy of Pediatrics - Clinical Practice Guidelines

ClinicalKey for Nursing
A clinical reference platform that includes content from evidence-based nursing monographs, books, journals, practice guidelines, and core measures with nursing recommendations as well as Procedures Consult and Clinical Skills topics. This resources provides information to support nursing care in areas such as administering medication, managing nurse policy, monitoring for complications, and providing patient education.
DynaMed
This point of care tool provides information on thousands of diagnoses and diagnostic tests as well as diagnostic and treatment guidelines. Patient leaflets are also included.
UpToDate
Provides evidence-based answers to commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Designed to provide concise information needed at the point of care.

To access UpToDate via the mobile app, select "Sign in with OpenAthens" and search for OHSU when prompted to enter your institution.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed and Ovid's MEDLINE both offer tools for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
CINAHL
Database with access to journal articles spanning various disciplines in nursing and allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.

Citation Guidelines:

Systematic reviews can be found by searching PubMed or CINAHL by using the following strategies:

In PubMed:
- After conducting search on a topic, select Additional Filters, show Article Type Meta-Analysis or Systematic Review, and click on both to narrow down your search.
- Conduct the search on your topic, then another search using the following strategy:
  "systematic review"[Publication Type] OR "systematic reviews as topic"[MeSH Terms] OR "systematic review"[All Fields] OR "meta analysis"[Publication Type] OR "meta analysis as topic"[MeSH Terms] OR "meta analysis"[All Fields]
  and using AND to combine the two searches.
In CINAHL:
- In Advanced search, enter your topic in the top search box and then AND in the following strategy in a second search box:
  (MH "Meta Analysis") OR "meta analysis" OR (MH "Systematic Review") OR "systematic review" OR (MH "Cochrane Library")
- In the Filters tab in the Advanced search screen, scroll down to the Publication Type filter and select Systematic Review and Meta Analysis and scroll down and click the Search button.
Systematic reviews can also be found by searching for topics directly in the Cochrane Library Database or in Joanna Briggs Institute Journals found below.

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) Journal: Evidence Synthesis

For information about the OHSU Nursing Clinical Inquiry Council, see our webpage on the Ozone:

Councils & Committees: Nursing Staff
To contact the council for advice or information about getting involved, in the OHSU Outlook email client, send a message to "Clinical Inquiry Council".