Parts of a Citation
The most basic entry for a journal consists of the author name(s), year published, article title, journal name, volume number, issue number, page numbers and DOI* when available or link to the article, if no DOI is avaiable.
Last Name(s), F. (Year Published). Article title. Journal Name in Italics, Volume Number in italics(Issue Number), Page Numbers. DOI
Kent, F., & Keating, J. L. (2015). Interprofessional education in primary health care for entry level students: A systematic literature review. Nurse Education Today, 35(12), 1221-1231. doi:10.1016/j.nedt.2015.05.005
*See box below for more information on the DOI.
Author, A.A., & Author, B.B. (Date). Title of book. Publisher Name.
Gawande, A. (2010). The checklist manifesto : How to get things right. Picador.
- If there is a doi or URL, include that at the end.
- Include up to 20 author names.
- 21+ authors, cite first 19 authors, insert an ellipsis and then last author listed.
What is a DOI?
The digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique identifier for citation linking services for scientific publishing in the digital world. It is another way for people to find things in the digital environment so it is helpful to include it in a citation if it is available.
DOIs are now routinely included in databases following the journal title.
The web site called Crossref.org offers a free look-up of DOI number for articles to include them in your citation.
- OHSU SON Writing Center APA Resources
- APA Style Blog - the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition.
- Reference Examples - APA Style
- APA Quick Reference
- APA Citing Clinical Practice References
- APA Tutorials and Webinars
- APA Handouts
- APA Sample Papers
- APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
- APA Citing - OWL @ Purdue
Find the APA Guide at the OHSU Library
Most Notable Changes - APA 7th Edition
Reposted with permission from Scribbr
Citation Finders: Find a specific article
If you are looking for a specific article, you can use one of the  citation finders within one of the OHSU bibliographic databases. Before you search for your article, consider which database you might find it in - for medicine, try Ovid MEDLINE or PubMed, if it's a nursing journal, look in CINAHL.
Citation finders are useful tools that allow you to locate individual journal articles based upon the information contained within its citation. These tools let you search for one or more of the following basic bibliographic elements to find a specific article:
- Author name
- Title words
- Journal name
- Year or Date of publication
- Volume, Issue, or Page #
Note that not all journals are covered by these citation finders.
Alternately, searching under "Journals" from the OHSU Library main page will identify whether or not the OHSU Library owns a particular journal and will provide a link, if the journal is available electronically. This search does not locate individual articles within a given journal, but once you've accessed the journal electronically, you can navigate to the year, volume, issue and page number of the article you are seeking.
Looking for articles on a specific topic?
If you are looking for articles on a specific topic, go to the library's databases by subject page and to find an appropriate database for your subject. If you need help deciding which databases would be most useful to your query, please contact a reference librarian at 503-494-3462, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org or Ask a Librarian
- Last Updated: Nov 22, 2021 3:31 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ohsu.edu/nursing
- Print Page