LibGuides: Clinical Resources: Patient Education

Library Resources

Many databases and online resources include patient information handouts:

ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window
Click on Patient Education under "More", customizable, English and Spanish.
Mosby's Nursing Skills is now Clinical Key Nursing. Use ClinicalKey for Nursing.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
All topics in Dynamed have Patient Information.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Click on Patient Education at the top of the page.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Includes customizable Care Notes in English or Spanish.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Click on More button at the top of the page to get to Patient Education, customizable, English and Spanish.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
All topics in UpToDate have Patient Information.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus provides access to information produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, such as searches of MEDLINE/PubMed. Also includes a database of full-text drug and supplement information, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and the latest health news.

National Institutes of Health - Consumer Health Information
Search consumer-oriented topics provided by the National Institutes of Health, a branch of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include mental health, beneficial eating, and helpful sleeping habits. Useful toolkits are also available.
PDQ® - National Cancer Institute's Comprehensive Database
This resource compiles evidence-based cancer care summaries on a wide range of topics. The information is geared towards health professionals, and informs the decision making process.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) - Consumer Information
A database for consumers with information about food, cosmetics, drugs, medical devices, and more. FDA Guidance Documents are available for download in PDF format.
Womenshealth.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
The Office on Women's Health spotlights women's health issues by educating health care professionals and the public. Resources here include patient materials, an A-Z health topics database, and healthy living checklists, all geared toward furthering women's healthcare.

Healthfinder.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) This link opens in a new window
This site is produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and provides links to reliable health information.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new window
Includes research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. Evidence-based practice, preventive services, practice guidelines, patient & consumer information, policy information, funding, research tools & data and relevant news are included.