LibGuides: Research: Methods, Communication, and Evaluation: Evaluating the Literature

Find Articles

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Access limited to 12 users at a time.
Citations, abstracts and some full text for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage dates back to 1981.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Ovid Medline is an interface for searching only Medline content the leading source for biomedical scholarly literature and research.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Topic reviews of the evidence-based medical literature providing authoritative information. Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A source for evidence based healthcare information. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
The Cochrane Library app is the perfect format for catching up on the latest evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. The app includes exclusive monthly issues containing the best of the previous month’s Cochrane Reviews, specially chosen by the Cochrane Library Editor in Chief.

Other features include:

Downloadable Cochrane Review content for reading offline.

A Bookmark feature for creating your own topic-based collections of Cochrane evidence.

Abridged Cochrane Reviews for the best possible tablet and phone reading experience

Download for Android or Apple

OHSU Library books on evaluating published research papers:

How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
Call Number: WB 102 G813h 2006
ISBN: 9781118801116
Link provided is for the eBook. A physical copy is also available in the main Library stacks.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by Gordon Guyatt
Call Number: WB102 U8453 2015
ISBN: 9780071790710
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by Judith Garrard
Call Number: W 20.5 G238h 2017
Studying a study & testing a test: reading evidence-based health research by Richard K. Riegelman
Call Number: WA 950 R554s 2012
ISBN: 1975120906
Link provided is for the 2021 ed. eBook. A physical copy of the 2012 ed. is available in the main Library stacks.
Interpreting the Medical Literature by Stephen H. Gehlbach
Call Number: W20.5 G311i 2006
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research by James A. Fain
Call Number: WY20.5 F162r 2009
ISBN: 9781719641821
Link provided is for the 2021 ed. eBook. A physical copy of the 2009 ed. is available in the main Library stacks.
Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by Jacqueline Fawcett; Joan Garity
Call Number: WY20.5 F278e 2009
Understanding Clinical Papers by David Bowers; Allan House; David Owens
Call Number: WZ345 B786u 2006
Link provided is for the 2013 ed. eBook. A physical copy of the 2006 ed. is available in the main Library stacks.