LibGuides: OHSU-PSU Joint School of Public Health (OHSU): Data Sources, Databases, & Articles

Databases at OHSU

A select list of databases available at OHSU. For a complete list visit OHSU Library's Databases page. When attempting to retrieve full-text of articles, use the button. From off campus you will be asked to login using your network credentials.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts and some full text for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage dates back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A source for evidence based healthcare information. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
The Cochrane Library app is the perfect format for catching up on the latest evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. The app includes exclusive monthly issues containing the best of the previous month’s Cochrane Reviews, specially chosen by the Cochrane Library Editor in Chief.

Other features include:

Downloadable Cochrane Review content for reading offline.

A Bookmark feature for creating your own topic-based collections of Cochrane evidence.

Abridged Cochrane Reviews for the best possible tablet and phone reading experience

Download for Android or Apple
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books and dissertations in the psychological, social and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.

Free Data Sources on the Web

Here are some useful sources of data freely available on the web. More sources for data can also be found in our Research Data and Reproducibility Guide.

Oregon Public Health Association
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - Research Data Resources
This page includes the latest statistical portraits of how health care is delivered in the United States.
Healthypeople.Gov
Provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Includes Healthy People 2020 and Healthy People 2030.
OpenEpi
OpenEpi provides statistics for counts and measurements in descriptive and analytic studies, stratified analysis with exact confidence limits, matched pair and person-time analysis, sample size and power calculations, random numbers, sensitivity, specificity and other evaluation statistics, R x C tables, chi-square for dose-response, and links to other useful sites.
PLACES: Local Data for Better Health
PLACES is a collaboration between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation. PLACES provides health data for small areas across the country. This allows local health departments and jurisdictions, regardless of population size and rurality, to better understand the burden and geographic distribution of health measures in their areas and assist them in planning public health interventions.

PLACES provides model-based, population-level analysis and community estimates of health measures to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.
CDC WONDER
CDC WONDER -- Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

Databases at PSU

PSU Logo

A select list of databases available at PSU. For a complete list visit PSU Library's Databases page. When attempting to retrieve full-text articles, click on the Find it at PSU button. From off campus you will be asked to login with your ODIN account to access these databases. You may also wish to view the Community Health research guide for further database suggestions.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Ovid Medline is an interface for searching only Medline content the leading source for biomedical scholarly literature and research.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts and some full text for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage dates back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A source for evidence based healthcare information. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
The Cochrane Library app is the perfect format for catching up on the latest evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. The app includes exclusive monthly issues containing the best of the previous month’s Cochrane Reviews, specially chosen by the Cochrane Library Editor in Chief.

Other features include:

Downloadable Cochrane Review content for reading offline.

A Bookmark feature for creating your own topic-based collections of Cochrane evidence.

Abridged Cochrane Reviews for the best possible tablet and phone reading experience

Download for Android or Apple

Ageline
Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles and other materials regarding issues related to aging.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition
Article citations and many full text articles from health and medicine journals.
Sage Research Methods Online
Contains full text Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Videos and interactive mapping tools are available.

Data Sources at PSU

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Vast archive of social science data, including aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science, public and mental health, and sociology.

Social Explorer
Contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables, and 220 years of data. Interactive mapping and reporting tools let users create maps and reports from U.S. Census data and other demographic data sets.

State Stats
Contains state-level historical data for the areas of agriculture, crime and law enforcement, defense, economy, education, employment and labor, energy & environment, geography, government finances, health, households and housing, population, social welfare, and transportation.

OECD iLibrary
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals. This is the replacement of SourceOECD.