The Library's extensive collections are available to support teaching and learning. This includes articles, books, book chapters, historical materials, and specialized databases and guides such as the Diverse Images and Audiovisuals for Educating Health Professionals.
Online materials can be integrated into course Sakai websites, and print materials can be put on reserve to provide more equitable access.
To fulfill requirements related to the Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA), the OHSU Library requests and receives textbook lists each term from instructors and academic programs. We post the textbook lists on the Library's website, including textbook titles, ISBNs, and retail price when available.
To support affordable access to textbooks, the Library will try to purchase e-book versions of textbooks. However, many publishers will not sell or license electronic textbooks to libraries. In these cases, the Library tries to purchase one print copy of the textbook for short-term loans, but this cannot meet student textbook needs for the entire term.
The Library also works with faculty and academic programs to serve high-demand usage of additional types of course materials through our course reserves collection. Print course reserves are available for a limited check-out period and can be searched and reserved via the Library's catalog. More detailed information about Course Reserves is available on the Library's website.
The OHSU Library and some academic programs provide no-cost access to licensing test prep materials, including books, question banks, and flashcards. The guide below provides descriptions and links to test prep materials available through the OHSU Library and other units.
Historical Collections & Archives (HC&A), part of the OHSU Library, is the home of OHSU's collections of rare books, archives, manuscripts, and artifacts. Serving the OHSU community and the general public, HC&A supports education and research using these unique collections.
We provide a full range of public services to support access to our collections. We also promote diverse and engaging perspectives on the history of health sciences through our exhibits, events, and the OHSU Oral History Program:
OHSU Digital Collections documents OHSU scholarship as well as the history of the institution and health sciences. The OHSU Library collects, manages, and disseminates various materials, including student scholarship, oral histories, digitized historical materials, and images for teaching and marketing.
By making these materials discoverable and accessible, OHSU Digital Collections supports the University's curricular and programmatic needs and enhances its sense of community and history. In addition, students can utilize the OHSU Library's Digital Collections for their research and learning and for sharing the scholarship they create. If you have questions about OHSU Digital Collections or would like to deposit your work, please see our Digital Collections Guide.
