Data Sources, Databases, & Articles - Public Health - OHSU-PSU Joint School of Public Health - LibGuides at Oregon Health & Science University

Databases at OHSU

Visit OHSU's Databases page for a full list of all databases available through the OHSU Library. Use the button linked within the databases to reach full-text. From off campus you will be asked to login using your network credentials.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed and Ovid's MEDLINE both offer tools for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database for journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
CINAHL
Database with access to journal articles spanning various disciplines in nursing and allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
PsycINFO (Ovid)
Provides access to abstracts of articles, books and dissertations in the psychological, social and behavioral sciences. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

Free Data Sources on the Web

More sources for data can also be found in our Research Data and Reproducibility Guide linked below.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - Research Data Resources
This page includes the latest statistical portraits of how health care is delivered in the United States.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
CDC WONDER
CDC WONDER -- Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
Healthypeople.Gov
Provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Includes Healthy People 2020 and Healthy People 2030.
OpenEpi
OpenEpi provides statistics for counts and measurements in descriptive and analytic studies, stratified analysis with exact confidence limits, matched pair and person-time analysis, sample size and power calculations, random numbers, sensitivity, specificity and other evaluation statistics, R x C tables, chi-square for dose-response, and links to other useful sites.
Oregon Public Health Association
PLACES: Local Data for Better Health
PLACES is a collaboration between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation. PLACES provides health data for small areas across the country. This allows local health departments and jurisdictions, regardless of population size and rurality, to better understand the burden and geographic distribution of health measures in their areas and assist them in planning public health interventions.

PLACES provides model-based, population-level analysis and community estimates of health measures to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.

Research Data and Reproducibility
by Breanna Caruso Last Updated Dec 1, 2025 6665 views this year

Databases at PSU

Visit PSU's Databases page for a complete list of databases available through Portland State University Library. From off campus you will be asked to login with your ODIN account to access these databases. You may also wish to view the Community Health research guide for further database suggestions.

Sage Research Methods Online
Contains full text Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Videos and interactive mapping tools are available.