Game collection

This guide describes the games in OHSU's game collection.

Game Collection

OHSU has created a game collection. The purpose of the collection is to find fun ways for members of the OHSU community to explore ideas in a social way. Initially this collection is focused on Health themed games. These games can help teach and inform concepts around complex issues. They are also just plain fun and can help to get into a more relaxed state of mind.

The initial collection was donated by Andrew Hamilton who is a librarian at OHSU and an avid game player. As we grow this collection we will also expand the scope to include more broadly themed games.

If you have questions about the collection please contact us.

7 Wonders Duel

Players vie for cards to build their city. This is a race to see how many points can be earned before one player completes the 7th wonder. There are three strategies for winning: military might, development of science, or basic victory points.

Players: 2

Playtime; 30 minutes

Ages: 10+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Light

TypeStrategic

Category: Bluffing, Card GameCity Building, Civilization

Mechanisms: Card Drafting,  Set Collection

Anatomy Fluxx

This is a very accessible card game that starts with few rules and no way to win. As the play progresses, players add rules and goals. A deceptively simple and very fun game.

Players: 2-6

Playtime; 5-30 minutes

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family, Party

Category: Card GameMedical

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Set Collection

Antidote

This card game imagines you are a victim of a toxin. Using the cards can you come up with an antidote in time

Players: 2-7

Playtime; 20-30 minutes

Ages: 13+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family, Party

CategoryCard Game, Deduction, Medical

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Partnerships, Simultaneous Action Selection, Variable Phase Order

Awkward Moments (coming soon)

Each round in Awkward Moment puts 3-8 players in terrifically awkward social situations. Take turns being the Decider. Draw a moment Card to a reveal hysterical, embarrassing, or stressful situation. Use the Decider Card to determine the basis for a winning Reaction. Impress the Decider by submitting the best response from your hand!.

Awkward Moment coverPlayers: 3-8

Playtime: 20 minutes

Ages: 12+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Party

Category: Education, Humor

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Simultaneous Action Selection

Buffalo

In each round of Buffalo, players race to make matches using cards on the table. Be the first to shout out the name of a real person or fictional character who matches the descriptors on two or more word cards, claim the matched cards, and continue flipping. When the deck runs out, the player with the most cards wins.

Buffalo CoverPlayers: 2-8

Playtime: 20 minutes

Ages: 14+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Party

Category: Education, Real-Time, Trivia

Mechanisms: Set Collection

Chess

The classic  two player perfect knowledge game. Each player controls 16 pieces of 6 different types. The object of the game is to eliminate your opponent's "king" piece by maneuvering your pieces and eliminating your opponent's pieces. No rules are included with this game, but there are many resources online for learning (https://www.wikihow.com/Play-Chess).Chess board

Players: 2

Playtime; 60 minutes

Ages: 6+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Heavy

Type: Abstract

Category: Abstract Strategy

Mechanisms: Grid Movement

Citadels

Each turn players choose a different character to use their special abilities in a race to grow their city before another player completes their city.

Players: 2-7

Playtime; 30-60 minutes

Ages: 10+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Light

TypeFamily, Strategic

Category: Bluffing, Card GameCity Building,  Fantasy, Medieval

Mechanisms: Card Drafting,  Set Collection, Variable Player Powers

Codenames

Players divide into two teams and try to get their team to guess their cards without picking the other teams cards or especially the assassin card. The trick is each card has a random word and you can only give your team a one word clue and a number.

Players: 4-8

Playtime; 15 minutes

Ages: 10+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Party

Category: Card Game, DeductionSpies/Secret Agents, Word Game

Mechanisms: Memory, Partnerships, Press Your Luck

Cryptid (coming soon)

Cryptid is a unique deduction game of honest misdirection in which players must try to uncover information about their opponents' clues while throwing them off the scent of their own. Each player holds one piece of evidence to help them find the creature, and on their turn they can try to gain more information from their opponents. Be warned; give too much away and your opponents might beat you to the mysterious animal and claim the glory for themselves!  

CryptidPlayers: 3-5

Playtime; 30-50 minutes

Ages: 10+

Difficulty/ComplexityMedium-Light

TypeFamily,  Strategic

CategoryDeduction

MechanismsHexagon Grid, Modular Board, Pattern Recognition

Cytosis: A Cell Biology Board Game

This is a worker placement game that takes place inside a human cell. Players start out with a number of workers and on a player’s turn, they will place one of their workers in any available location within that cell. Some of the locations provide players with resources (e.g., mRNA, ATP); some with actions (e.g., convert resources, collect cards). Resources are used to build enzymes, hormones and/or receptors, which score Health Points. The player with the most Health Points at the end of the game wins!

Cytosis coverPlayers: 2-5

Playtime; 60-90 minutes

Ages: 10+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Light

Type: Strategic

Category:  Economic, Education, Industry / Manufacturing, Medical

MechanismsSet Collection, Worker Placement

Exploding Kittens

From the creator of The Oatmeal, this game pits players in a last-man-standing scenario that of course it kitty themed.

Players: 2-5

Playtime; 15 minutes

Ages: 7+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Party

Category: AnimalsCard Game, Comic Book/Strip,  Humor

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Player EliminationPress Your LuckSet Collection, Take That

Gut Check: The Microbiome Game (coming soon)

Players attempt to develop a healthy microbiome while interfering with the microbiomes of their opponents. Give your friends the plague, botulism and more! Go to work sick to get rid of a pathogen, take some probiotics, or have some lasagna (if you can digest it). Gut Check draws on elements from a number of games including Pandemic, Magic: The Gathering, and Dominion. This is a print and play game. You can download the game for yourself.

Players: 2-4

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family

Category: Card Game, EducationalMedicalPrint & Play

Mechanisms: Card DraftingHand Management, Player EliminationTake That

Healthy Heart Hospital

This is a cooperative game that pits the collective wits of the players against the waves of patients needs. In this game the players will run a hospital including managing resources like staffing to meet the needs of the patients while keeping the hospital solvent.

Cover of Healthy Heart Hospital

Players: 1-5

Playtime; 90 minutes

Ages: 13+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium

Type: Strategy, Thematic

CategoryEconomicMedical

Mechanisms: Action Point Allowance SystemCooperative Play, Press Your Luck, Variable Player Powers

Ion: A Compound Building Game

This is a very accessible card game that starts with few rules and no way to win. As the play progresses, players add rules and goals. A deceptively simple and very fun game.

Players: 2-7

Playtime; 20-40 minutes

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

TypeParty Game

Category: Card GameDeductionEducationalMedical

Mechanisms: Card Drafting,  Cooperative Play,  Pattern BuildingSet Collection

Love Letter

This very quick game matches player wits against each other, trying to deduce which cards the other player holds and remain in the game.

Players: 2-4

Playtime; 20 minutes

Ages: 10+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family

Category: Card GameDeductionRenaissance

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Player Elimination

Nyctophobia

Nyctophobia (fear of the dark), is a semi-cooperative game of survival in where players cooperate to escape from a terror in the dark. Players actually play the game blinded by blackout glasses. This game is a tactile maze game. Only one player can see and they play the hunter trying to catch the other players.

Players: 3-5

Playtime; 30-45 minutes

Ages: 9+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Thematic

Category: Horror

Mechanisms: Memory, PartnershipsVariable Player Powers

Onitama (coming soon)

In this game payers play with perfect knowledge and almost no randomness. When you use your moves to maneuver your pieces on board your opponent will get the ability to use that same move against you.

OnitamaPlayers: 2

Playtime; Less than 30 minutes

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Abstract

Category: Abstract Strategy, Ancient

Mechanisms: Grid Movement, Hand Management

OrganATTACK! (coming soon)

In this game players attempt to remove their opponent's organs before the opponents can remove theirs. The last person with any organs wins. Players defend themselves by playing appropriate disease cards on organs..

Players: 2-6

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family

Category: Card Game, Medical

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Take That

Pandemic

This is a cooperative game where the players face a world with rapidly spreading diseases. Together they must fight off the disease and find cures before the diseases spread to far.

Cover of Pandemicl

Players: 2-4

Playtime; 45 minutes

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Light

Type: Family , Strategy

Category: Medical

Mechanisms:Action Point Allowance System, Cooperative Play, Hand Management, Point to Point Movement, Set Collection, Trading, Variable Player Powers

Pandemic: Contagion

Each player competes as a disease for survival and to wipe out all humans. Tweak your disease's incubation person, infection rate and resistance to be the winner.

Cover of Pandemic: Contagion

Players: 2-5

Playtime; 30 minutes

Ages: 14+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Light

Type: Family

Category: Card Game, Medical

Mechanisms:Area Control / Area Influence Hand Management

Pax Emancipation

The 7 wonders of the great civilizations were built by slave-power, and societies' need to enslave weaker neighbors went unquestioned for millennia. Until the day an audacious petition was sent to Parliament, not just to end slavery in England, but throughout the entire world! In this game, you assume the role of an abolitionist during the Age of Enlightenment, either a Parliamentarian, an evangelical, or a private philanthropist. Assign warships to blockade slave ports or intercept slave ships, install missions, trading posts, and colonies in foreign lands steeped in serfdom, challenge the institution of slavery on moral and legal grounds in courts, and sanction underground railroads, slave revolts and revolutions. Play in cooperative-competitive, cooperative, or solitaire modes. If victorious, you achieve the greatest political accomplishment in history: making slavery everywhere illegal.
—description from the publisher

Pax Emancipation Cover

Players:1-3

Playtime; 2-3 hours

Ages: 14+

Difficulty/Complexity: Heavy

Type: Simulation

Category: Age of Reason

Mechanisms: Card Drafting, Cooperative Play, Deck / Pool Building, Dice Rolling

The Resistance

This is a party game of social deduction. It is designed for five to ten players, lasts about 30 minutes, and has no player elimination. Players are either Resistance Operatives or Imperial Spies. For three to five rounds, they must depend on each other to carry out missions against the Empire. At the same time, they must try to deduce the other players’ identities and gain their trust. Each round begins with discussion. When ready, the Leader entrusts sets of Plans to a certain number of players (possibly including himself/herself). Everyone votes on whether or not to approve the assignment. Once an assignment passes, the chosen players secretly decide to Support or Sabotage the mission. Based on the results, the mission succeeds (Resistance win) or fails (Empire win). When a team wins three missions, they have won the game.

The Resistance coverPlayers: 5-10

Playtime; 30 minutes

Ages: 13+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Party

Category:  Bluffing, Card Game, Deduction, NegotiationScience Fiction, Spies/Secret Agents

MechanismsHidden Traitor, Partnerships, Simultaneous Action Selection, Voting

Sequence

Sequence uses standard playing cards in combination with a board. The board shows all the cards (except for the Jacks) of two (2) standard 52-card decks, laid in a 10 x 10 pattern. The four corners are free spaces and count for all players equally. The players compete to create rows, columns or diagonals of 5 connected checkers placed on the cards that the player has laid down. Two-eyed Jacks are wild, while one-eyed Jacks allow an opponent's checker to be removed. The goal of the game is for a player to reach a predetermined number of sets.

Sequence coverPlayers: 2-12

Playtime; 10-30 minutes

Ages: 7+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family, Party

Category: Abstract Strategy, Card Game

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Partnerships, Pattern Building

Terraforming Mars

This game simulates the terraforming of Mars. Players compete for space and resources while at the same time working to increase temperature, oxygen and water. Players must balance their resource to gain victory points and ultimately make Mars habitable.

Terraforming Mars Cover

Players: 1-5

Playtime; 120 minutes

Ages: 12+

Difficulty/Complexity: Medium-Heavy

Type: Strategy

Category: Economic, Environmental, Industry/Manufacturing, Science Fiction, Space Exploration, Territory Building

Mechanisms:Card Drafting, Hand Management, Set Collection, Take That, Tile PlacementVariable Player Powers

Tsuro (coming soon)

A beautiful and beautifully simple game of laying a tile before your own token to continue its path on each turn. The goal is to keep your token on the board longer than anyone else's, but as the board fills up this becomes harder because there are fewer empty spaces left... and another player's tile may also extend your own path in a direction you'd rather not go.

TsuroPlayers: 2-8

Playtime; Less than 30 minutes

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Abstract, Family

Category: Abstract Strategy, Fantasy

MechanismsHand ManagementNetwork and Route Building, Player Elimination, Tile Placement

Uno

This classic card game has each player competing to empty their hand first. The catch is the players need to remember to say "Uno" when they reach one card in their hand.

Uno coverPlayers: 2-10

Playtime; 30 minutes

Ages: 6+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family

Category: Card Game, Number

Mechanisms: Hand Management, Take That

Virulence: An Infectious Card Game

This game is focused on viruses infecting a host cell - and how they assemble and replicate inside that host cell. Players take on the role of viruses competing to infect a host cell in order to replicate their own viral components, thus scoring points..

virulence coverPlayers: 2-5

Playtime; 15-20 minutes

Ages: 8+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Simulation

Category: Bluffing, Deduction, Dice, Medical, Number

Mechanisms: Auction / Bidding, Betting / Wagering, Deck / Pool Building, Dice Rolling, Hand Management, Press Your Luck, Set Collection, Simultaneous Action Selection, Variable Player Powers

Yahtzee

This classic dice game is played with 5 dice. Each player's turn consists of rolling the dice up to 3 times in hope of making a set of dice values that match 1 of 13 categories. The categories are generally similar to poker hands. For example: 3 of a kind, 4 of a kind, straight, full house, etc. Each player tries to fill in a score for each category, but this is not always possible. When all players have entered a score or a zero for all 13 categories, the game ends and total scores are compared. The winner is the person who has the highest point total.

Yahtzee coverPlayers: 2-10

Playtime; 30 minutes

Ages: 6+

Difficulty/Complexity: Light

Type: Family

Category: Dice

Mechanisms: Dice Rolling, Paper-and-Pencil, Press Your Luck, Set Collection