LibGuides: Resources for Oregon-Licensed Health Providers: Home

Contact Us!

OHSU Resources Available to All Oregon-Licensed Health Providers

Oregon-licensed health providers not affiliated with OHSU have access to the AccessMedicine Database through OHSU Library.

Access Medicine

This database provides information on basic sciences and medicine, including the Lange Current Diagnosis and Treatment Series, Harrison's, and Goodman and Gilman's. The Lange Self-Assessment Tool for the USMLEasy is also included.

Users must have an OHSU Library account in order to use AccessMedicine. To get an account, visit our Library Account Application page.

At the OHSU BICC Library on Marquam Hill

If you visit the OHSU Library during regular business hours, you can check out library books and scan or download journal articles free of charge. (Please see our website for our hours.)

From our computer stations you can access nearly all of the resources available at OHSU Library. This includes thousands of journals and key databases such as CINAHL and ClinicalKey for Nursing, Cochrane Library, OVID MEDLINE, Pediatric Care Online, PsycINFO and Scopus.

Free Article Delivery via Reprints Desk for Oregon MDs & DOs Only

Reprints Desk

Through a partnership with the Oregon Medical Board, the OHSU Library offers to Oregon-licensed MDs and DOs access to an article delivery service. This service is funded by MD/DO licensing fees.

Using PubMed enabled with Reprints Desk, this service provides a quick and easy way to obtain articles from nearly any journal title including NEJM, Science, Nature and many more.

To register for this service, you need an OHSU Library Account.

Getting started with Reprints Desk Service:

Step 1: Get OHSU Library Account User ID or Barcode

Apply for an OHSU Library account using the Library Account Application

Step 2: Register for Reprints Desk

After obtaining an OHSU Library account, sign up for a Reprints Desk account. Signing up will take less than five minutes but processing your account may take up to an hour. This is a two-step process.

Step 2.A: Log in with your User ID or Barcode and password: https://login.liboff.ohsu.edu/login/ReprintsDesk
Step 2.B: Submit the Reprints Desk Setup form.

You will receive an e-mail when your Reprints Desk account is active. Use your Reprints Desk login and password to access Reprints Desk.

Step 3: Find Articles

If you are searching for articles on a particular subject and have already registered:

Search PubMed enabled with Reprints Desk
After finding an article of interest, click on the linked title of the article. Look for and select the "Get Full-Text in Article Galaxy" icon and login using your Reprints Desk username and password. Your order form will be auto-populated with information from PubMed.

Step 4: Order Articles

If you have a citation for a journal article you would like to order, and have already registered:

Step 5: Manage Account

The Reprints Desk Dashboard allows you to check the status of orders, edit delivery profiles, reset your password, share feedback, and get help.

Limitations
In order to provide access for all Oregon-licensed MDs and DOs to the article delivery service, we have established certain limitations.

This service is limited to a cost of $100 per article. Requests that exceed $100 will not be filled.
For items that cannot be filled through Reprints Desk, contact us at libdoc@ohsu.edu. Include your OHSU account number and the citation for the item you need. If we can acquire it, we will provide it to you at no charge subject to the availability of OMB funds.

Please Contact Us if you have any questions about eligibility to use this service.

For problems or help using this service, contact Reprints Desk.

Free Resources Available from the National Library of Medicine and Others

National Library of Medicine resources

Clinical Alerts
Messages provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality.
LitCovid
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 126,553 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can learn more at Chen et al. Nature (2020) or our FAQ, and download our data here.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus provides access to extensive information about specific diseases and conditions for consumers and practitioners.

NCBI Bookshelf
Free online collection of books, reports, databases and other scholarly literature in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.

Oregon-licensed MDs and DOs can obtain free full-text of articles indexed in PubMed MEDLINE using the Reprints Desk service. Follow the instructions for Free Article Delivery via PubMed for Oregon MDs & DOs.
Other Oregon-licensed health providers who previously used the National Library of Medicine Loansome Doc service may request full-text articles for a fee by setting up an account through the OHSU Library. Please see this page for more information.

Other Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
Registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides access to several thousand free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Free Medical Journals
Provides access to over 4,000 free, full-text medical journals available on the Web. Also available is a free subscription to journal alerts.
MDCalc
Medical calculator and equations for clinical calculations, scores, equations, outcomes, mortality and risk stratification.

Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine of evidence-based content designed to support clinical practice and care. It includes research evidence and other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Resources for Oregon-Licensed Health Providers