From Anesthesia to X-Rays: Innovations and Discoveries That Changed Medicine Forever (eBook) by
Easy to read and to use, this A-to-Z mini-encyclopedia covers the most important medical innovations of the last 200 years. * Features 50 interesting A-to-Z reference entries on medical innovations * Covers biographies of important medical innovators, descriptions of the first use of an innovation, and descriptions of other innovations that were less successful * Provides an introductory essay explaining how the list was chosen and discussing the importance of innovation in the medical field * Includes a chronology of major milestones in medical innovation * Utilizes a ready-reference format that makes finding information about particular innovations easy
Great Discoveries in Medicine by
Sickness and health, birth and death, disease and cure: medicine and our understanding of the workings of our bodies and minds are an inextricable part of how we know who we are.In this inspiring compendium, distinguished experts from around the world explain medicine's turning points and conceptual changes, and answer a series of key questions: How did the Plague influence the course of human history? What should complementary medicine's role be? How did an audacious self-experiment lead to a cure for stomach ulcers and a Nobel Prize?The book is magnificently illustrated with a unique array of pictures, from beautiful Renaissance anatomical drawings to the very latest computer- generated images of viruses and photographs that reveal the hidden world within our bodies.Topics include humors & pneumas, Islamic medicine, pathological anatomy, neuron theory, bedlam & beyond, parasites & vectors, hormones, the genetic revolution, defibrillators, the endoscope, medical robots, typhus, tuberculosis, smallpox, HIV, and more.
A History of Medicine by
Stressing major themes in the history of medicine, this Second Edition stimulates further exploration of the events, methodologies, and theories that shaped medical practices in decades past and in modern clinical practice-highlighting the practices of civilizations around the world, as well as the research of pioneering scientists and physicians who contributed to our current understanding of health and disease.
History of Medicine by
Jacalyn Duffin's History of Medicine provides a brief survey of the history of Western medicine with reference to recent scholarly literature and current issues in health care. Organized conceptually around the major fields of medical endeavour - anatomy, physiology, pathology, pharmacology, surgery, obstetrics, psychiatry, pediatrics, and family medicine - this book is an accessible overview of medical history as a vibrant component of social, intellectual, and cultural history, and as a research discipline in its own right. Each chapter begins in antiquity and ends in the twentieth century. Throughout, Duffin shows that alternative interpretations can be found for most elements of our past and that topics of interest can go well beyond 'great men' and 'great discoveries' to include ideas, diseases, patients, institutions, and great mistakes. This approach does not mean that the 'great men' (and women) are neglected; rather they appear in context. Medical disasters such as chloramphenicol and thalidomide, are covered along with the triumphs, and examples from Canada's past, largely ignored in other medical histories, are included. A chapter on methodology, suggestions for further reading with special attention to Canadian sources, and a careful index make it possible to research a specific event or historical debate, or to satisfy a more general curiosity. By presenting the material in a structure that resonates with the broad outlines of medical training, and by focusing on the questions asked most often, this text is a relevant guide for students to the history of the profession they are about to embrace, and for those who would teach them, be they physicians or historians. Duffin's clear and entertaining prose and the many illustrations will help to demystify medicine for general readers and for students in other domains, such as history, philosophy, and sociology.
An Introduction to the Social History of Medicine by
A one-volume, detailed survey of the major debates and themes in the history of western medicine, from the early modern period to the present.Combining specialised knowledge with new ways of thinking about the subject, this lucidly written, illustrated text explores traditional views and questions existing orthodoxies.
Locating the Medical: Explorations in South Asian History (eBook) by
This volume interrogates the foundational categories that have come to define medical science in modern South Asia. It seeks to probe issues such as what constitutes the "medical", in which context, and who defines it. This is achieved through case studies that range from the nineteenth totwenty-first centuries, from colonial Bengal and British Burma to present-day Andaman Islands and Ladakh.By examining the close interactions between political authorities, corporeal knowledge, and objects of governance in a sustained manner, the domains of the medical and the non-medical are revealed to be more blurred and porous than apparent. This provides us with new perspectives on theco-production of medicine and social worlds by actors and agencies in specific times and places.
The Making of Modern Medicine : Turning Points in the Treatment of Disease by 
Medicine and Empire, 1600-1960 by
The history of modern medicine is inseparable from the history of imperialism. Medicine and Empire provides an introduction to this shared history - spanning three centuries and covering British, French and Spanish imperial histories in Africa, Asia and America. Exploring the major developments in European medicine from the seventeenth century to the mid-twentieth century, Pratik Chakrabarti shows that the major developments in European medicine had a colonial counterpart and were closely intertwined with European activities overseas:* the increasing influence of natural history on medicine* the growth of European drug markets* the rise of surgeons in status* ideas of race and racism* advancements in sanitation and public health* the expansion of the modern quarantine system * the emergence of Germ theory and global vaccination campaigns.Drawing on recent scholarship and primary texts, this book narrates a mutually constitutive history in which medicine was both a 'tool' and a product of imperialism, and provides an original, accessible insight into the deep historical roots of the problems that plague global health today.
On the Shoulders of Medicine's Giants (eBooks) by
Medical history offers us many wise thoughts, a few misguided notions, and a host of intriguing back-stories. On the Shoulders of Medicine's Giants presents a selection of these, and tells how the words of medicine's "giants"--such as Hippocrates, Sir William Osler, Francis Weld Peabody, and Elizabeth Kübler-Ross--are relevant to medical science and practice in the 21st century. Which physician was the inspiration for the fictional character Sherlock Holmes, and what did he identify as "the real essential factor in all successful medical diagnosis"? What did Sigmund Freud describe as his "tyrant," and what might this mean for doctors today? Do you know the attributed source of the well-known aphorism about horses and zebras, and what we believe this physician actually said? This book answers these questions and more, while also providing fascinating tales about each individual quoted. On the Shoulders of Medicine's Giants is recommended for practicing physicians, students, and residents, as well as nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and anyone involved in patient care who wants to understand the historical and epistemological foundations of what we do each day in practice. To see Dr. Taylor lecture on the history of medicine, go here: https://youtu.be/Zx4yaUyaPRA
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine by
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Medicine celebrates the richness and variety of medical history around the world. In recent decades, the history of medicine has emerged as a rich and mature sub-discipline within history, but the strength of the field has not precluded vigorous debates about methods, themes, and sources. Bringing together over thirty international scholars, this handbook provides a constructive overview of the current state of these debates, and offers new directions for future scholarship. There are three sections: the first explores the methodological challenges and historiographical debates generated by working in particular historical ages; the second explores the history of medicine in specific regions of the world and their medical traditions, and includes discussion of the `global history of medicine'; the final section analyses, from broad chronological and geographical perspectives, both established and emerging historical themes and methodological debates in the history of medicine.
Sources in the History of Medicine by
This reader gives students in a history of medicine class, or the general reading public, a broad selection of readings about the many ways that disease and trauma have affected human populations over time. It draws from both primary and secondary sources to give a dual perspective of a) what was written at the time of various events, and b) what modern scholars have been able to ascertain from historical evidence. It has a broad scope both in time and space, covering materials from earliest Man to contemporary bioethical problems, and contains materials from India, China, Latin America, and the Muslim worlds as well as Europe and the United States. Rather than simply looking at great medical discoveries, it is purposely focused on how trauma and disease have been daily companions of human existence. It fills a serious void in teaching materials in the history of medicine by taking a world perspective, using a combination of primary and secondary sources, covering a huge time span and putting emphasis on the problems created by medical progress, and most importantly, focusing on the effect that medical practices have had on ordinary people throughout history.
Western Medicine (eBook) by
From ancient religious rituals and magical incantations, to Renaissance practices such as purging, bleeding, and trepanning, to modern day miracles such as antibiotics, CAT scans, and organ transplants, the advance of western medicine has been nothing short of astonishing. Now, in this richly illustrated volume--boasting 150 pictures, including 24 pages of color plates--readers have an authoritative and wide-ranging history of Western medicine, charting the great milestones of medical progress, from the birth of rational medicine in the classical world right up to the present day. The history begins in ancient Greece, where medical practice, under the auspices of Hippocrates and others, first looked past supernatural explanations and began to understand disease as a product of natural causes. The book examines the contributions of the great Islamic physicians, such as Rhazes (Al-Razi) and Avicenna (Ibn-Sina), who had a profound impact on the practice of medieval medicine, and it chronicles the slow growth of medical knowledge through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, illuminating the work of figures such as Paracelsus, Vesalius, and William Harvey (who explained how blood circulates through the body). But it has been in the last two centuries that medical practice has made its greatest strides, and Western Medicine provides informative portraits of figures as Louis Pasteur and Robert Koch (the fathers of bacteriology), Wilhelm Roentgen (discoverer of x-rays), and Paul Ehrlich (who pioneered the use of chemicals to destroy disease-causing organisms), and many others. And as the contributors highlight the great medical discoveries, they also cover broader medical and social themes, examining for instance the rise of medical training in universities (beginning around 1200 AD), the relationship in the Renaissance between medicine and art, and the tension between the church and an increasingly secularized medical professional class, tension that continues to this day. The book also explores nursing, midwifery, and the rise of the hospital, traces our slow understanding of the patterns of epidemics and the geography of disease (tracking for example the devastating effects of disease brought about through colonization and the slave trade), and charts our changing attitudes towards child birth, mental disease, and the doctor-patient relationship. Authoritative, informative, and beautifully designed, this volume offers a fascinating introduction to medicine in the West. In addition to its generous illustrations, the volume includes a glossary, an extended list of suggested further reading, a chronology, and a full index, making it an indispensable reference for anyone interested in medical history.
Inside Oregon State Hospital by
Seen through the eyes of the patients who lived there, Inside Oregon State Hospital" examines the world of the Northwest's oldest mental hospital, established in 1883. In desperate attempts to cure their patients, physicians injected them with deadly medications, cut holes in their heads, and sterilized them. Years of insufficient funding caused the hospital to decay into a crumbling facility with too few staff, as seen in the 1975 film "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest." Today, after a $360 million makeover, Oregon State Hospital is a modern treatment hospital for the state's civil and forensic mentally ill. In this compelling account of the institution's tragedies and triumphs, author Diane Goeres-Gardner offers an unparalleled look at the very human story of Oregon's historic asylum."
Oregon's Doctor to the World by
Esther Clayson Pohl Lovejoy, whose long life stretched from 1869 to 1967, challenged convention from the time she was a young girl. Her professional life began as one of Oregon's earliest women physicians, and her commitment to public health and medical relief took her into the international arena, where she was chair of the American Women's Hospitals after World War I and the first president of the Medical Women's International Association. Most disease, suffering, and death, she believed, were the result of wars and social and economic inequities, and she was determined to combat those conditions through organized action. Lovejoy's early life and career in the Pacific Northwest gave her key experiences and strategies to use for what she termed "constructive resistance," the ability to take effective action against unjust power. She took a political and pragmatic approach to what she called "woman's big job"-achieving a full female citizenship-and emphasized the importance of votes for women. In this engaging biography, Kimberly Jensen tells the story of this important western woman, exploring her approach to politics, health, and society and her civic, economic, and medical activism. Watch the book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch'v=blyfLWnCTV0
Characteristics of Compassion by
The healthcare system has turned the art and science of healing into big business, and many doctors can no longer devote the greater part of their working hours directly to patient care, faced as they are with reams of insurance- and legal-related paperwork, the constant threat of malpractice, and a burgeoning patient population. Despite this, some physicians still enter the profession with deeply held convictions, hopes, and idealism, and go on to excel not just as medical doctors, but as human beings.Characteristics of Compassion: Portraits of Exemplary Physicians is book that profiles the recipients American Medical Association Foundation Pride in the Professions Award. It gives insight into what sets these outstanding doctors apart from their peers to inspire medical professionals and their patients. It provides first hand insights and identifies a rich description of traits/motivations shared by today's leading physicians.
Classics of Cardiology by
Examining the vast field of cardiology, this book is part of a collection that discusses types of heart problems and their respective treatments. Ventricular abnormalities, arterial problems, transplantation, and hypertension are also covered in detail.
Dictionary of American Medical Biography by
"This is a necessary and well-recommended acquisition for academic and larger public libraries building collections in the health sciences." Choice "an excellent addition to medical or history of science collections." Reference Books Bulletin
The Medical Millennium by
This is an extensively illustrated review of 1000 notable men and women who have contributed most to our current knowledge of medicine and surgery over the past 1000 years. Its publication celebrates what has truly been the medical millennium - an unprecedented triumph of human endeavor as succeeding generations of pioneers have built on the work of earlier doctors and scientists to provide yet further insights and advances during an extraordinary era of progress stretching from folklore to high science. Handsomely bound, this is an educational and absorbing record of the heroes and heroines of the medical millennium.
The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease (CWHHD) was first published by Cambridge University Press in 1993 and reprinted in 2001. Part VIII, the last section of the work, comprises a history and description of the world's major diseases of yesterday and today in chapters that are organized alphabetically from 'Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)' to 'Yellow Fever'. The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Human Disease makes this last section of CWHHD available to a wider general audience. It condenses the essays into shorter entries, information on AIDS, Alzheimer's disease, Ebola virus disease, and tuberculosis. The Dictionary also makes available three chapters from other parts of the CWHHD on 'Heart-Related Diseases', 'Cancer', and 'Genetic Disease'. This Dictionary contains contributions from over 100 medical and social scientists from all over the globe, making it a truly interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine by
This is a comprehensive reference work which surveys all aspects of the history of medicine, both clinical and social, and reflects the complementary approaches to the discipline. The editors have assembled an international team of scholars to provide detailed and informative factual surveys with contemporary interpretations and historiographical debate. Special Features * Comprehensive: 72 substantial and original essays from internationally respected scholars * Unique: no other publication provides so much information in two volumes * Broad-ranging: includes coverage of non-Western as well as Western medicine * Up-to-date: incorporates the very latest in historical research and interpretation * User-friendly: clearly laid out and readable, with a full index of Topics and People * Indispensable: essential information for study and research, including bibliographic notes and cross-referencing between articles.
Morton's Medical Bibliography by
Since its original publication in 1943, Morton's Medical Bibliography has become the world's foremost annotated guide to classic works in the history of medicine and related sciences. The compilation of the fifth edition has involved revision of the work from literally the first entry all the way through to the end. Certain sections are extensively revised, expanded and updated; others are only slightly corrected. Virtually every section has been changed in some way.
Women in Medicine: A Bibliography of the Literature on Women Physicians by Dictionary of Medical Eponyms by
This is an updated edition of a dictionary of medical eponyms used mainly in internal medicine in English-speaking countries. Each entry tells the meaning of the eponym, and provides bibliographic information about the person to whom the eponym refers.
A Dictionary of the History of Medicine by
This is a unique, extensively illustrated dictionary of terms, people, events, and dates spanning the entire history of medicine. It is a monumental work of scholarship totaling some 700 double-column pages with a large number of rare and exceptional illustrations from many original sources painstakingly compiled over years of far-searching inquiry involving more than 5,000 books and hundreds of journals. It is a major resource of hard-to-find information about notable medical figures, instruments, conditions, procedures, and dates and a storehouse of captivating anecdotes and background material. The book contains a wealth of material for concise historical introductions to a broad range of subjects and is the sine qua non authority on both well and little known facts of medical history. With this single volume-an unprecedented tour de force representing more than 7,000 hours of exhaustive research-clinicians and researchers from all fields of medicine can quickly and easily find authoritative, detailed definitions and descriptions, with dates, of medical terms and of the people and events contributing to the development of medicine from earliest times to the present day. The entries range widely from such as abacterial pyuria to zygote, including Latin and Greek origins of terms, compact biographies with dates, eponymic information of all kinds, and rarely seen drawings and photographs of antique medical instruments and little-known conditions.
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography (eBook)
Authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours, and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Medical Meanings by
Dr. William S. Haubrich's curiosity knows no bounds, nor does that of his readers. The overwhelming demand for more histories of yet more words is satisfied in the eagerly awaited second edition of ""Medical Meanings: A Glossary of Word Origins"". Here the reader will find not just etymology and explanations of medical terminology but lessons in history and popular culture. They will learn what really ailed John Merrick, a.k.a., the Elephant Man; what odd deformity plagued the House of Hapsburg, rulers of Spain from 1493 to 1780; and, what the connection is between fetal alcohol syndrome and Little Orphan Annie. Charming, witty, and a rollicking learning experience, the second edition of ""Medical Meanings"" is fully updated and revised to include over thirty per cent more of the definitions, histories, and amusing anecdotes readers of the first edition so treasured. Charley horse is a term commonly used to describe pain and stiffness, usually in thigh muscles and especially that consequent to athletic stress. One explanation is that Charles II of England, following the Restoration in 1660, rewarded soldiers disabled by service in the Loyalist cause with appointment to undemanding government jobs. Such gimpy veterans were known as 'Charleys'. Later, the same Charley came to be given to an elderly, often partially lame horse retired from strenuous service and reserved for family use. Another story is that a somewhat decrepit horse named Charley was employed to haul a roller back and forth across the playing field of the Chicago White Sox baseball team in the 1890s. If all this seems devious, it's because it is. Pithode is the nuclear barrel-like figure formed in the process of cellular mitosis. The Greek pithos was a wine cask. Rowdy medical students at Johns Hopkins University in the 1890s formed what they called The Society of Pithotomists, a reference to their penchant for tapping into kegs of wine or beer.
