LibGuides: Business, Management and Leadership: Writing Resources

Writing Resources

Zen and the Art of Business Communication by Susan L. Luck
ISBN: 1606499572
Publication Date: 2016-09-11
In today's online world, our professional image depends on our ability to communicate. Whether we're communicating by email, text, social media, written reports or presentations, how we use our words often determines how others view us. This book offers tips and techniques that can improve anyone's professional image. The author covers how to analyze multiple audiences and strategies for communicating your message effectively for each; structuring your message for greatest readability and effect; persuasion and tone; and how to face your own fears of writing. The content is delivered in a simple, clear style that reflects the Zen approach of the title, perfect for both the entry-level employee and the seasoned executive.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk
ISBN: 9780486113708
Publication Date: 2012-04-04
The original edition of the most trusted writer's guide to American English, this is the book that generations of writers have relied upon for timeless advice on grammar, diction, syntax, sentence construction, and other writing essentials. In brief and concise terms, author William Strunk, Jr., identifies the principal requirements of proper American English style and concentrates on the most often violated rules of composition. Originally published in 1918, this authoritative and engagingly written manual retains its immediacy and relevance. Strunk begins with the basic rules of usage, offering accessible explanations of correct punctuation and grammar. His advice on the principles of composition cites concrete examples of how to maintain clarity by eliminating redundancy and unnecessary embellishment. In addition, Strunk provides valuable pointers on avoiding common errors in the usage of words and expressions, and in spelling. The greatest book of its kind, this volume is a must for any student or writer.

How to Write, Publish, and Present in the Health Sciences by Thomas A. Lang
ISBN: 9781934465141
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
From the acclaimed author of the standard reference on reporting statistics in medicine, this new resource explains how to create effective scientific articles, research proposals, abstracts, posters, and slide presentations. It describes how to write efficiently and how to prepare tables, charts, graphs, illustrations, and images for publication. A wealth of key concepts, practical information, common mistakes, and helpful tips make this book invaluable to novice researchers and seasoned professionals alike. This book is sure to become the leading reference on health-science communications!
Citing Medicine by Karen Patrias; Dan Wendling
Publication Date: 2007
"Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations."

Authorship Guidelines - Who is an Author?
Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals.
Uniform requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals: Writing and editing for biomedical publication
Participating Journals

"Journals stating that they follow the ICMJE Recommendations"

There are many subscription and free bibliographic citation management platforms. They allow for gathering and organization of citations (and attached full-text PDFs), and formatting citations and references in a paper (write-n-cite). Here is an in-depth comparison of reference managers' features.

EndNote is a subscription tool offered by the OHSU Library. For information on how to download, set up, and use EndNote, go to the OHSU Library How to Get EndNote guide below. Features include:

seamless references upload from databases and the web
automatic full text search of Library and free resources.
a one-click citation and document upload button (Mendeley Importer)
an automatic Word/Pages write-n-cite plugin
ability to sync between web, desktop
ability to annotate PDFs
a web interface
some sharing and collaboration features
To learn more about EndNote, go to EndNote20 videos listed below.

Zotero is a free, open source citation management tool. Features include:

a web interface
a desktop app
a one-click citation and document upload button (Zotero Connector -- see below) or automatic harvesting of full text using Find Available PDFs.
a built-in Word and LibreOffice write-n-cite plugin; a GoogleDocs plugin (automatic with Zotero Connector installation)
mobile apps -- including access to stored full text
sharing and collaboration features
ability to sync between web, desktop and mobile versions
300 MB of free storage (you can pay to upgrade)

WHAT YOU NEED FOR THE BEST *ZOTERO* EXPERIENCE

Create an account on the Zotero website.
Download the desktop app.
The desktop app is where you can create your folders, select citations styles for bibliographies, etc. Once you have a bibliography in the desktop app, the Word plug-in, automatically installed with your Zotero desktop download, will enable you to access your saved articles and insert in-text citations as well as a bibliography in your selected citation style.
You can also simply copy and paste the bibliography into a document.
Zotero Connector allows for one click uploading of citations and articles from PubMed and many other sites/databases.
To set up automatic harvesting, go to Zotero desktop app Preferences, click on General, copy and paste this link in the Resolver line: https://librarysearch.ohsu.edu/openurl/01ALLIANCE_OHSU/01ALLIANCE_OHSU:OHSU
Download Zotero mobile apps.
To learn more about Zotero, go to community-created Zotero tutorials.

Comparison of Reference Management Software
EndNote

Instructions on how to install EndNote for Macs and PCs, and basic tips and tools.
EndNote 20 Videos
EndNote YouTube Channel
Zotero
Zotero Connector
Zotero Mobile Apps
Zotero Tutorials

AMA Manual of Style by The Jama Network Editors
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-dateon word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations.Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer tonearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.

AMA Style: Purdue Owl
NLM Guide: Citing Medicine, 2nd ed.

The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers