Resources for Oregon-licensed Health Providers: Home

Directory of resources available to health professionals licensed to practice in Oregon and not otherwise affiliated with OHSU.

Access to OHSU resources

Oregon-licensed health providers (without OHSU affiliation) have access to a number of resources from the National Library of Medicine and other sources, and to some OHSU library resources. Access varies depending on licensure (see details below), and some resources require users have an OHSU Library barcode, which can be requested here.

OHSU Library resources available to all Oregon-licensed health providers

Freely available resources from the National Library of Medicine and others

National Library of Medicine resources

Clinical Alerts

Messages provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality.

MedlinePlus

Provides access to extensive information about specific diseases and conditions for consumers and practitioners.

NCBI Bookshelf

Free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

PubMed Health

Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. It provides summaries for consumers and full technical reports for clinicians.

PubMed (MEDLINE)

Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.

  • Oregon-licensed MDs and DOs can obtain free full-text of articles indexed in PubMed MEDLINE using the Reprints Desk service. In order to use the Reprints Desk service, you must first request an OHSU Library barcode.
  • Other Oregon-licensed health providers can request full-text of articles for a fee using the National Library of Medicine's Loansome Doc service. You can learn more about Loansome Doc here.

 

Other resources

ClinicalTrials.gov

Registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

Provides access to several thousand free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Free Medical Journals

Provides access to over 4,000 free, full-text medical journals available on the Web. Also available is a free subscription to journal alerts.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

A database of clinical practice guidelines created by the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ).

MDCalc

Medical calculator and equations for clinical calculations, scores, equations, outcomes, mortality and risk stratifications.

Trip

Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.

 

 

 

 

OHSU Library Info

OHSU Library at the BICC

Access with an OHSU ID Badge: 24 hours a day

The 24 Hour Study Space can be accessed through the 4th floor entrance with a valid OHSU ID Badge when the service desk is closed.

BICC Service Desk: Monday to Friday, 8AM to 6PM

Graduate LRC at the CLSB

Access with an OHSU ID Badge for departments and programs located at the CLSB: 24 hours a day

LRC Service Desk: Monday to Friday, 12PM to 6PM

Contact Us:

Call the Library Service Desk: (503) 494-3460
Send us a text: (503) 536-2238

Outreach Librarian

Kristi DeShazo
Contact:
(503) 494-1637