LibGuides: Data-related Educational Opportunities at OHSU: Workshops

Workshops

Current/Upcoming Workshops
Past Workshops

OHSU Library Workshops
The OHSU Library provides a variety of workshops. Check this link for upcoming sessions in areas that interest you.

Contact(s): Contact the Library
Location: Online
Intended audience: All OHSU Faculty, Staff, and Students welcome
Experience Level: All
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: Continuous
Duration: Continuous
Keywords: Health Data, Data Management
Cost/Fees: Free

Utilizing data science resources to prepare and package integrated datasets (part of Charting the Life Course web series)
Life course research embraces the complexity of health and disease development by tackling the extensive interactions between genetics and environment. Life course research is not simply research across the lifespan but, instead, articulates the importance of complex systems science as a methodological framework to guide our research questions.

Location: Online
Intended audience: N/A
Experience Level: N/A
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: June - November 2020
Duration: June - November 2020
Keywords: Data Collection, Data Mining, Data Science, Drug Interactions, Retrospective Studies
Cost/Fees: Free

Data After Dark: OHSU BD2K Data Science Workshop
What is big data and how does it relate to your research? Learn about emerging NIH data science activities and requirements. Be more impactful with your science and your data. Do better research by leveraging big data concepts. Become a FAIR data scientist: Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable

Contact(s): Instructors: Shannon McWeeney, PhD; Melissa Haendel, PhD; David Dorr, MD, MS; and Nicole Vasilevsky, PhD
Location: In person
Intended audience: N/A
Experience Level: N/A
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: January 13th & 14th, 2016
Duration: January 13th & 14th, 2016
Keywords: Big Data, Data Science
Cost/Fees: Free

Introduction to R and RStudio for Exploratory Data Analysis Part 1 & 2
This two-part workshop will introduce R and RStudio to people with no prior experience. We will start with how to use RStudio to write and execute code, introduce data structures, and then show basic commands for working with data: loading, viewing, summarizing, simple plotting, manipulating, and saving of data. Basic R data wrangling and plotting principles using tidyverse and ggplot will be introduced along with R Markdown for creating high-quality reproducible documents to present your work.

Contact(s): Amy Laird; laird@ohsu.edu
Location: Online
Intended audience: N/A
Experience Level: N/A
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: September 16 & 17, 2020
Duration: September 16 & 17, 2020
Keywords: Data Science, Software
Cost/Fees: Free

Research Project Workshops - Research Data Management Best Practices
Discussing experimental design and research data management (RDM) workflows – Instruction will cover RDM fundamentals (e.g., formatting spreadsheets, file directories, data dictionaries, naming files, version control). The participants will work with actual files on their computers/for their projects to better organize them and create their own data dictionary.

Contact(s): OHSU Library
Location: On Campus
Intended audience: N/A
Experience Level: N/A
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: April 5, 2017
Duration: April 5, 2017
Keywords: Data Management, Research Design, Workflow, Computers
Cost/Fees: Free

Better BioData with Ontologies and Linked Data
What an ontology is and why anyone would use one? Who’s using ontologies, and how are they using them? How ontologies are created and maintained? How to use an ontology to make your research data more reusable?

Contact(s): Robin Champieux; champieu@ohsu.edu
Location: On Campus
Intended audience: All
Experience Level: Beginner
Restrictions on attendance: No previous experience with ontologies or linked data is required
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: February 15, 2019
Duration: February 15, 2019
Keywords: Biological Ontologies, Controlled Vocabulary
Cost/Fees: Free

OHSU Library Data Science Institute
The OHSU Library Data Science Institute aimed to bring together researchers, librarians, and information specialists for formal training on key topics in data science.

Contact(s): Contact the Institute Below
Location: White Stag Building, located at 70 NW Couch Street, Portland
Intended audience: All
Experience Level: Unknown
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Facilitated
Regularity or occurrence: November 6-8, 2017
Duration: November 6-8, 2017
Keywords: Biostatistics, Biomedical Research
Cost/Fees: Free

Health Data from Tribal Nations: The Native Health Database and Changes to NIH Policy (Workshop)
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples. The NIH is also focused on the responsible sharing of American Indian and Alaska Native data, as they implement changes in January 2023.

Contact(s): Pam Pierce; piercepa@ohsu.edu
Location: Online
Intended audience: OHSU Postdoctoral scholars, Faculty, Staff, and Students
Experience Level: All
Restrictions on attendance: N/A
Internal or external resource: Internal
Facilitated or Self-Guided: Self-Guided
Regularity or occurrence: Static
Duration: Continuous
Keywords: Health Data, Data Management; Alaskan Natives, Indigenous Peoples
Cost/Fees: Free

Contact the Data Science Institute