LibGuides: OHSU Evidence-Based Practice Course for Interprofessional Clinical Teams: Session 3

Session 3: Agenda

Session date: Thursday, September 21, 2017

Location: Vey Auditorium

Topics:

Assignments:

Please complete the following tasks PRIOR to our class session on September 21.

Task 1: Create an EndNote account using your OHSU email address.

Task 2: Install EndNote in-text citation feature on the computer you will be using to write your guideline.

To find relevant guidelines, search NGC or NICE, or go directly to the association website relevant to your topic.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on medicine, nursing, dentistry and pre-clinical sciences. Links to full-text articles when available.

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books and dissertations in the psychological, social and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts and some full text for nursing & allied health journals. Coverage dates back to 1981.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A source for evidence based healthcare information. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
The Cochrane Library app is the perfect format for catching up on the latest evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. The app includes exclusive monthly issues containing the best of the previous month’s Cochrane Reviews, specially chosen by the Cochrane Library Editor in Chief.

Other features include:

Downloadable Cochrane Review content for reading offline.

A Bookmark feature for creating your own topic-based collections of Cochrane evidence.

Abridged Cochrane Reviews for the best possible tablet and phone reading experience

Download for Android or Apple

EndNote enables you to cite and format references in a manuscript with the click of a button.

For instructions, watch the video below.