This is the "Home" page of the "The Starr-Edwards Artificial Heart Valve: Historical Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Starr-Edwards Artificial Heart Valve: Historical Sources  

Guide to OHSU Library resources on the history of the Starr-Edwards artificial heart valve
Last Updated: Aug 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.ohsu.edu/starr-edwards Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

OHSU Historical Collections & Archives

OHSU Historical Collections & Archives is the library's special collections department. Our rare books, archival material, and museum artifacts are available for your research.

To make an appointment to use our collections, please contact us at homref@ohsu.edu or (503) 418-2287. Many items from our collections are also available through the OHSU Digital Resources Library.

 

The Starr-Edwards Artificial Heart Valve: Historical Sources


In 1958, M. Lowell Edwards and Albert Starr, MD, met at University of Oregon Medical School (now OHSU) and began collaborating on the development of an artificial heart valve. After many stages of research and development, the first successful heart valve replacement operation took place in 1960. The Starr-Edwards heart valve saved thousands of lives, and became a defining moment in the history of the university.

OHSU Historical Collections & Archives, a department of OHSU Library, holds archival materials documenting Starr and Edwards' achievement. These unique resources include photographs, manuscripts, publications, and artifacts. OHSU Library also holds oral history interviews and research publications relating to the development of the Starr-Edwards heart valve. All of these materials are available for research.

Selected materials from these collections were displayed in an exhibit at OHSU Library in Fall 2011.

 

Acknowledgment

This guide was compiled as part of the M. Lowell Edwards Public History Project, made possible by a grant from the Edwards Lifesciences Fund.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip