This is the "Senior Health Home" page of the "Senior Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Senior Health  

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2013 URL: http://libguides.ohsu.edu/seniorhealth Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Senior Health Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

OHSU Library Hours

Ask a Librarian

Sunday, 12:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m
Monday - Thursday, 7:30 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Friday, 7:30 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Saturday, 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

The fourth floor of the OHSU Library on Marquam Hill is open 24 hours a day to OHSU students, faculty and staff with OHSU ID badge.

For more library information, visit the OHSU Library site.

 

Senior Health

RECOMMENDED

healthfinder.gov: Senior Health
This site contains information on numerous health topics from the US Department of Health & Human Services.

MedlinePlus: Seniors' Health
A starting place that will lead you to overview, treatment, prevention and screening information for a variety of seniors' health topics.

NIH Senior Health
A site designed specifically for seniors. Information on the site is geared toward seniors' health issues. It also includes some features such as reading aloud text, enlarging text, and contrasting text for seniors with vision or hearing problems.

NOAH: Aging
Provides information on a variety of topics. Information is available in Spanish, too.

 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

AARP: Health
Current health news and information from the AARP.

Administration on Aging: Elders & Families
Use this site to find organizations for seniors, read health fact sheets, and much more.

AgingCare.Com: The Community for Caregivers
Provides information for caregivers about how to best care for their aging loved one. Information includes topics about health, but also covers financial and legal matters.

Aging Parents and Elder Care
This site provides advice, comprehensive checklists, and resource links for caregivers.

AGS Foundation for Health In Aging
Information provided by the American Geriatric Society about healthy aging.

Assisted Living Directory
This site links you to assisted living facilities in your state.  You can also watch videos and get personalized assistance with your assisted living search.

Centers for Disease Control: Healthy Aging
This site provides health information and data and statistics about aging in the United States.

Family Caregiver Alliance
This site provides fact sheets about health conditions, legal issues, and advocacy for caregivers. it also provides fact sheets in other languages such as Spanish and Chinese.

FamilyDoctor.org: Seniors
Read health handouts on many different health issues appropriate for seniors.

Geriatric Mental Health Foundation
Find information about mental health and seniors.

Health Compass
This site is a "how-to program" that will help seniors understand health information.

healthfinder.gov: For Older Adults
This site provides information about healthy living as an older adult.

InteliHealth: Senior Health
This site provides information about a healthy lifestyle and about diseases and conditions.

Mayo Clinic: Healthy Aging
This site provides articles about staying healthy and aging happily.

MySeniorCare 
MySeniorCare’s mission is to support families and their aging loved ones as they search for information, resources and providers of senior care. They provide families with a wide range of support and credible information: 500+ articles reviewed by industry experts serving on their advisory board, a member community featuring message boards, user and expert authored blogs and a question and answer section. The Care Provider Directory empowers users to search, compare and directly contact pre-screened home health care, assisted living facilities, and hospice providers in their local area. Their search tool allows users to search by the specific type of care they require and the payment method they would like to use. Users can also read user reviews of each provider and call toll-free numbers to schedule a free consultation.

National Institute on Aging: Publications
This site provides information from the National Institute on Aging.

New Lifestyles
This site helps you find housing and elder care by state. It also provides information about facility licensing such as adult day care facilities and nursing homes.

Nursing Home Abuse Center
Use this site to learn about how to identify nursing home abuse. It also gives information about how to deal with suspected abuse.

Nursing Home Compare (Medicare)
Use this tool to evaluate the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the U.S.

Senior Living Map
This website allows you to find senior living facilities in your area.  It gives you a description of each place and tells the monthly budget needed.

USA.gov: Health for Seniors
Provides information and services from the US government for seniors.

 

About Consumer Health Information

The information provided offers the views of individual authors and does not necessarily represent or imply approval or recommendation by OHSU or by your health care provider. Questions about your unique medical condition and circumstances can only be answered by your health care provider.

OHSU Library provides consumer health information that is vetted by librarians. It is intended to help the public navigate accurate and reliable health information. For more information about Oregon Health & Science University, please read About OHSU.

This web site does not show advertisements, nor will it endorse one particular product, service, or facility over another. Any information collected by our web site, for example e-mail addresses, addresses, etc. will not be passed on to any third party, unless required by law.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip