- ABG Pro
Program that calculates arterial blood gases. Download for the Palm OS v2.0 or higher.
- ABXGuide (Antibiotics Guide) from John Hopkins
Find information about antibiotics. Supports the Palm, PocketPC, Blackberry and iPhone.
- Access Emergency Medicine
A resource that includes information on ED procedures. It includes 13 full-text books, videos, images, and drug information.
Provides mobile use of the "Quick Topics" from the Emergency Medicine Manual, searchable topic cards for all textbook resources currently on the AEM site, and drug monographs. You must create a MyAccessEM personal login and password to access smartphone applications from the Access Emergency Medicine
Over 30 textbooks in the basic sciences and medicine, including the Lange Current Diagnosis and Treatment series, Harrison's, and Goodman and Gilman's. The Lange Self-Assessment Tool for the USMLEasy is also included. Includes a search feature for images and video. Can be personalized and has PDA downloads.
- AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)
Provides a downloadable version of the Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) and the Pneumonia Severity Index Module.
- AIDSinfo Treatment Guidelines
A downloadable version of the guidelines for PocketPC and Palm from the US Department of Health and Human Services.
- Archimedes™ Free Medical Calculator
Calculator with formulas specific to Cardiology, Pharmacology, Hematology, FEN, Pediatrics, Pulmonary and Renal medicine. Download for BlackBerry, iPhone, Palm, and other devices.
This is a free app for your iPhone to help keep you up to date in medical news and research. It is a portal for RSS feeds for news and rich media. Download from iTunes
- Clinical Guidelines on Overweight and Obesity in Adults
Downloadable to Palm and PocketPC devices. Guidelines include a BMI calculator, cardiovascular disease risk factor assessment, individualized weight loss goals and treatment recommendations, and more.
From McGraw-Hill this resource offers information regarding differential diagnoses.
Free online differential diagnosis tool. Use wireless from your handheld devices to access the usable handheld interface.
Free downloadable apps for the iPhone and iPod Touch. Applications are calculators for lab values, sedation, and more.
DynaMed is a clinical reference for use at the point-of-care. It includes evidence-based, clinically-organized summaries for over 3,000 topics. It is updated daily, and includes calculators and patient handouts.
Users must use a unique serial number to download and use DynaMed for handheld devices. Email Dynamed
to get a serial number for a free download of PDA applications. You must send your request from your OHSU e-mail address. The software supports Palms, PocketPCs, Smartphones, BlackBerry, and iPhone from the Skyscape platform. For more information, see the DynaMed Technical Information page
- EBM Calculator
This is the palm version of the Stats Calculator
from the University of Toronto. It calculates statistics for diagnostic studies, prospective studies, case control studies, and randomized control studies. Download for the Palm only.
Over 25 databases covering health, general information, business and education with significant full text. 4/20/2010 - If you are running Mac OSX 10.4 or higher and use Firefox as your browser, you will need to download a free PDF plugin in order to view PDFs
- Epocrates Essentials
- First Consult
A clinical decision support resource that leverages evidence-based medical content to provide quick answers at the point-of-care. Content is subject to rigorous oversight by expert peer reviewers, a renowned editorial board and physician editors and is frequently updated. Integration with MD Consult
provides seamless access to an in-depth compendium of medical content.
1. Access FirstConsult
2. Click on "Create an Account" on the top right.
3. Complete the registration form, create your username and password, click "Submit" and log out.
4. Download the app
- Health Hotlines
Download an app with toll-free number listings to health-related hotlines. This resources is also available on the plain old web
A free app for the iPhone/iPod Touch developed by
a physician and winner of the NLM 2011 "Show off Your Apps" award.
- IEL(I EEE/IEE Electronic Library online)
IndexCat, the online version of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army (61 volumes in 5 series, 1880-1961), is a comprehensive subject catalog of books, pamphlets, dissertations, reports, and journal articles published from the 17th-20th century and held by NLM. Researchers will find material in IndexCat that is not in the National Library of Medicine's catalog (LocatorPlus).
- iTunes U
Find free podcasts on health sciences topics in iTunes U.
JAMAevidence is an evidence based practice learning tool, which contains the two core textbooks: Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 2nd Edition and The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis. JAMAevidence also includes education guides, calculators, PowerPoint slide sets, and worksheets to assist users with the study and understanding of evidence based practice concepts.
- Medical Encyclopedia - University of Maryland Medical Center
Free iPhone application from the University of Maryland Medical Center. It includes reviewed and regularly updated information in English and Spanish. Download the app from iTunes
- Medical Eponyms
Provides a database of eponyms for the Palm, iPhone, Blackberry, Windows Mobile, and Pocket PC. Medical Mnemonics Provides a database of medical mnemonics. Download for Palm and WAP enabled phones.
- Medscape Mobile
Available for iPhones, iPod touch, Blackberry and Android users. Features continually updated Drug Database, Drug Interaction Checker, Medscape Medical News and WebMD Health Directories that can be searched by location, physician name, or specialty. No internet connection required for access.
MedSpeak is a tool that will help you communicate with patients who speak Mandarin or Cantonese. It includes written and audio recordings of questions and commands in these languages. Purchase this software through iTunes. Lite version freely available.
- MERCK Manuals
Medical reference books produced by pharmaceutical company Merck & Co. that cover a wide range of medical topics, including disorders, tests, diagnoses, and drugs
Micromedex offers three different apps for Apple or Android devices, including Drug Information, Drug Interactions and IV Compatability. Click the Micromedex link above for more information, including passwords required for some apps.
- Mobile MedlinePlus
This is MedlinePlus's online interface for mobile devices. The interface includes a search able set of patient information health topics as well as drug and over-the-counter medication information. The entirety of Mobile MedlinePlus is available in Spanish, too.
- Mobile MerckMedicus
Downloadable software provides access to The Merck Manual, Reuters Medical News, and Harrison's Practice–Answers on Demand. Wireless access using a handheld enables full use of MerckMedicus. You must register with the site to use the wireless access for your handheld.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
Download a complete summary for each guideline in the National Guideline Clearinghouse
database. For each guideline there is a "PDA download" link in the Summary box on the side menu. Downloadable for Palm.
- National Heart and Lung Institute
Download numerous applications such as a BMI Calculator, JNC 7, ATP III Cholesterol Guidelines and more for the Palm and PocketPC.
- Natural Standard
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative therapies, including scientific data and opinions. Findings are presented in order of strength of evidence. Information is summarized into full-text reviews, including comprehensive Professional Monographs, concise Bottom Line Monographs (some in Spanish), Flash-cards and Natural Standard/Harvard Medical School Monographs.
- Nature.Com Mobile
Read full-text science news from the Nature Publishing Group on your iPhone or iPod Touch. Download from iTunes
- NCBI Bookshelf
- Nursing Reference Center
A comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant, evidence-based, clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. It provides in-depth content, including conditions and diseases, patient education resources, drug information, continuing education, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more.
1.Log into the NRC interface
2.Click the Nursing Reference Center iPhone/iPod Touch Application link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. An email with an authentication key is sent to you.
3.Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application.
You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a ne
- Psychiatry Online
Although PDA access is not part of the library's current subscription to Psychiatry Online
, you may individually purchase PDA E-books for Diagnostic Criteria, Differential Diagnosis, and APA Practice Guidelines for Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders.
- PubMed for Handhelds
- PubMed for Handhelds PICO search
A PubMed search utilizing PICO (Patient/Problem, Intervention, Compared to, and Outcome) in a fill-in-the-blank format. The PICO method can be used for structuring clinical questions and their accompanying evidence-based literature searches.
- PubMed On Tap
Downloadable iPhone application that lets you search PubMed.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager similar in function to products such as EndNote, Reference Manager, and ProCite. You will need to sign up for an individual account the first time you use RefWorks.
- REMM (Radiation Emergency Medical Management)
Provides information about how to diagnose and treat radiation injuries. Download from the link above or at iTunes
- Scopus Alerts
Use this iPhone App version of Scopus
to search for articles, create article alerts, make notes, and share links.
- Shots 2011
Download the 2011 Childhood and Adolescent Immunization Schedules and the 2011 Adult Immunization Schedule for the Palm and Pocket PC. A for fee version exists for Skyscape software (Windows, Smartphones, iPhones, and BlackBerry.)
- Springer Images
Photos, diagrams, graphs, figures and tables taken from Springer's renowned ebook collection and journal portfolio, as well as the images.MD database. Search image captions, keywords and references to find the right image.
- The Merck Manuals
Download either The Merck Manual - Home Edition or The Merck Manual - Professional Edition. For iPhone only.
- UpToDate (links below)
1. Note: You must first set up a personal username and login with UpToDate from one of the links below:
2. Then download the UpToDate app for one of these devices:
iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch (Apple App Store)
Android (Google Play or Android Market)
Windows 8 (Apps for Windows 8)
3. Open the app on your device and enter your UpToDate user name and password at the prompt.
- USDA National Nutrient Database
Download nutritional data for Palm or Windows devices.
Resource for first responders to assist with hazardous materials incidents. Information included on hazardous substances, substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. This is also available from iTunes
- WorldCat Mobile
Find library materials near you using the world's largest network of library content.
Nearly 30,000 images to aid in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional & occupational diseases, benign & malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, & other injuries. For point of care it allows a search for a diagnosis, the creation of a patient-specific differential, or look up of adverse reactions by medication. VisualDx mobile app available on iTunes
and Google Play