Linking to Full-Text Resources
What are persistent links?
- Web addresses that connect to a permanent location within a library database
- Stable and persistent! The web address will never change
Why persistent links?
- Copyright friendly because it is content OHSU pays for via the Library
- Easier than uploading PDFs to courses
- Students have direct access to download the PDFs
Persistent links and Sakai
- Sakai allows you to post article PDFs and their web addresses
- Posting PDFs from non-licensed journals is often violation of copyright law
- The Library recommends using persistent links to share materials via Sakai
Learn more about copyright and fair use: Columbia University's Fair Use Checklist
Making a Persistent Link from the OHSU Library Catalog
If you need to include an article link in your syllabus or post a citation to your class in Sakai, you can create a persistent link to an article via the OHSU Library catalog (http://librarysearch.ohsu.edu):
- Get into an article in our catalog in one of two ways:
Find@OHSU Library link
If you have searched in a database (PubMed, CINAHL, other) and found an article you want, there should be a blue/purple Find@OHSU Library button associated with that record.
Click on the Find@OHSU Library button
You should be brought into the OHSU Library catalog. Go to Step 2 below.
Directly in catalog (http://librarysearch.ohsu.edu)
Get into the OHSU Library catalog (link from top Library page or directly at http://librarysearch.ohsu.edu/).
Paste the title of your desired article in the search box.
Change the drop-down menu from OHSU to Articles from selected databases and search.
Theoretically the article you are seeking will show up. If so, click on the “Citation” icon and copy the citation. Paste the citation where you need to go point someone to that article (ex: your Sakai post or document).
Click on the "Permalink" icon, copy that, and highlight the article title (in the citation you pasted in the previous step)and insert the hyperlink. Ultimately your citation will look something like this:
Mahony, D., & Jones, E. (2013). Social determinants of health in nursing education, research, and health policy. Nursing Science Quarterly, 26(3), 280-4
Making a Persistent Link from Databases
- Options for obtaining persistent links to articles vary between databases.
- The most common options are described on this page.
- Many databases provide a persistent link creation tool.
- The names of the tools vary
- Common terms to look for are "permalink", "jumpstart", "copy link" and "embed link."
- These permalinks are usually located in the same area as the options to print, save, and email.
- Databases that have persistent tools include:
- EBSCOhost (including CINAHL)
- Ovid (including PsycINFO)
- and others
Here are some examples:
Making a Persistent Link with Permanent URLs
- In some databases the URL in the address bar is a persistent link.
- In these cases, the URL plus https://login.liboff.ohsu.edu/login?url= placed at the beginning can be used as a persistent link.
- Resources that have permanent URLs in the address bar include:
- BMJ Clinical Evidence
- ClinicalKey for Nursing.
Important Note: If the words "session" or "temp" appear in a URL, it is likely NOT a persistent link: http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail?vid-3&hid=111&sid-bfd697de-6231-4dd4-94df-f60c5ec41c85%40sessionmgr115&bdata-JnNpdGU9Z
Making a Persistent Link from Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs)
- DOIs are digital object identifiers.
- If a database provides a DOI for a full-text article in the item record, you can use it to make a persistent link.
- To make a persistent link from the DOI, copy the DOI and append it to this URL: https://login.liboff.ohsu.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/
ScienceDirect and Wiley Online Library provide DOIs.
Here is an example:
Off-Campus Access to Library Materials
If the link does not begin with it must be added to the beginning of the link. This prefix allows access for off-campus users.
When is a link NOT a persistent link?
: If the words "session" or "temp" appear in a URL, it is likely NOT a persistent link. For example:
- Last Updated: Jan 3, 2019 3:08 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ohsu.edu/linkingtofulltext
- Print Page