This is the "Home" page of the "History of Medicine I " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of Medicine I  

Books shown in History of Medicine I in the School of Medicine
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ohsu.edu/content.php?pid=426873 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

OHSU Historical Collections & Archives

OHSU Historical Collections & Archives is the library's special collections department. Rare books, archival material, and museum artifacts are available for your research.

To make an appointment to use our collections, please contact us at homref@ohsu.edu or (503) 418-2287. Many items from our collections are also available through the OHSU Digital Resources Library.

 

History of Medicine I books

Below are books used in History of Medicine I classes, arranged by lecture topic. Books in OHSU Historical Collections & Archives are available for research by appointment. Books in the circulating collection are available via the Main Library.

Myths, Magic, Medicine

Breasted, James Henry. The Edwin Smith Surgical Papyrus. Chicago, Ill: University of Chicago Press, 1930.

 

Hippocrates

Hippocrates. The Medical Works of Hippocrates. Oxford: Blackwell, 1950.

Hippocrates. Aphorisms. Leiden: Ioannis Maire, 1638. 

 

Above: Hippocrates, 1638

 

Galen

Galen. Galeni opervm. Basel: Officina Frobeniana, 1542.

 

Above: Galen, 1542

 

Medieval Medicine

Guglielmo da Saliceto. The surgery of William of Saliceto. Philadelphia: Xlibris Corp, 2002. 

Rosenman, Leonard D. A Medieval Surgical Pharmacopoeia and Formulary: With a List of Simples and Compounds : 1170-1325. Philadelphia: Xlibris Corp, 1999. 

Islamic Medicine

Avicenna A Treatise on the Canon of Medicine of Avicenna, Incorporating a Translation of the First Book. New York: Kelley, 1970. 

Ḥunayn ibn Isḥāq al-ʻIbādī, and Max Meyerhof. The Book of the Ten Treatises on the Eye. Cairo: Government Press, 1928.

Maimonides, Moses. Treatise on Poisons and Their Antidotes. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1966.

Rāzī, Abū Bakr Muhammad ibn Zakarīyā. A treatise on the small-pox and measles. London: Sydenham Society, 1848.

 

Andreas Vesalius

Vesalius, Andreas. De humani corporis fabrica libri septem. Basel: Ioannem Oporinum, 1555. 

 

Above: Vesalius, 1555


Medical Humanism

Caius, John. The Works of John Caius, M.D. Second Founder of Gonville and Caius College and Master of the College, 1559-1573. Cambridge: University Press, 1912.

 

William Harvey

Harvey, William. Exercitationes de generatione animalium. The Hague: A. Leers, 1680. 

Harvey, William. The works of William Harvey. London: Sydenham Society, 1847.

Willis, Leeuwenhoek, and Sydenham

Sydenham, Thomas, and John Pechey. The Whole Works of That Excellent Practical Physician Dr. Thomas Sydenham. London: J. Darby, 1729. 

Willis, Thomas. Pharmaceutice Rationalis, or, An Exercitation of the Operations of Medicines in Humane Bodies: Shewing the Signs, Causes, and Cures of Most Distempers Incident Thereunto ; in Two Parts ; As Also a Treatise of the Scurvy, and the Several Sorts Thereof, with Their Symptoms, Causes, and Cure. London:  T. Dring, C. Harper, and J. Leigh, 1679. 

 

Above: Willis, 1679

 

The Hunters

Hunter, John. A Treatise on the Venereal Disease. London: G. Nicol, 1788.

Hunter, William. Hunter's Lectures of Anatomy. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 1972.

 

Laennec and Skoda

Laennec, R. T. H.. A Treatise on the Diseases of the Chest and on Mediate Auscultation. London: Thomas & George Underwood, 1829.

Skoda, Joseph, and W. O. Markham. Auscultation and percussion. Philadelphia: Lindsay and Blakiston, 1854.

 

Above: Laennec, 1829

 

Rudolf Virchow

Virchow, Rudolf. Cellular Pathology As Based Upon Physiological and Pathological Histology: Twenty Lectures Delivered in the Pathological Institute of Berlin. Philadelphia: P. Blakiston, 1859.

Virchow, Rudolf. Post-Mortem Examinations; with Especial Reference to Medico-Legal Practice. Philadelphia: Blakiston, 1880. 

 

Thomas Addison

Addison, Thomas. On the Constitutional and Local Effects of Disease of the Supra-Renal Capsules. Birmingham, Ala: Classics of Medicine Library, 1980. 

Richard Bright

Bright, Richard. Reports of Medical Cases: Selected with a View of Illustrating the Symptoms and Cure of Diseases by a Reference to Morbid Anatomy. London: Longman, Rees, Orme, and Green, 1827. 

 

William Beaumont

Beaumont, William. Experiments and Observations on the Gastric Juice, and the Physiology of Digestion. Plattsburgh, N.Y.: F. P. Allen, 1833.

 

Claude Bernard

Bernard, Claude. Introduction à l'étude de la médecine expérimentale. Paris: J.B. Baillière et fils, 1865.

Bernard, Claude, Walter F. Atlee, and Charles Robin. Notes of M. Bernard's Lectures on the Blood: With an Appendix. Philadelphia: Lippincott, Grambo & Co, 1854.

Wilhelm Roentgen

Klickstein, Herbert S. Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen on a New Kind of Rays: A Bibliographical Study. [St. Louis, MO]: Mallinckrodt Chemical Works, 1966

Morton, William J., and Edwin W. Hammer. The X Ray or Photography of the Invisible and Its Value in Surgery. New York: American Technical Book Co, 1896.

 

Ignaz Semmelweis

Semmelweis, Ignác Fülöp, and K. Codell Carter. The etiology, concept, and prophylaxis of childbed fever. Madison, Wis: University of Wisconsin Press, 1983. 

 

Archibald Garrod

Garrod, Archibald E., and Harry Harris. Inborn Errors of Metabolism. London: Oxford University Press, 1963. 

 

Alexander Fleming


Fleming, Alexander. Penicillin, Its Practical Application. London: Butterworth & Co.; [etc.], 1946.

Fleming, Alexander. On the antibacterial action of cultures of a penicillium, with special reference to their use in the isolation of B. influenzae. British Journal of Experimental Pathology 1929; 10: 226-236. Reprinted in the Bulletin of the World Health Organization 2001.

Women in medicine

Blackwell, Elizabeth. Essays in Medical Sociology. London: Bell, 1902. 

Jensen, Kimberly. Oregon's Doctor to the World: Esther Pohl Lovejoy and a Life in Activism. Seattle: University of Washington, 2012.

Walter Reed

United States Surgeon-General's Office. Report on the Origin and Spread of Typhoid Fever in U.S. Military Camps During the Spanish War of 1898. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1904. 

HIV/AIDS

Center for Disease Control. Pneumocystis pneumonia --- Los Angeles. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 1981;30:250--2. 

William Osler

Osler, William. The Principles and Practice of Medicine: Designed for the Use of Practitioners and Students of Medicine. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1892. 

 

Harvey Cushing

Cushing, Harvey. The Pituitary Body and Its Disorders. Philadelphia & London: J.B. Lippincott Co, 1912.

Cushing, Harvey. Tumors of the Nervus Acusticus and the Syndrome of the Cerebellopontile Angle. Philadelphia: Saunders, 1917. 

 

Fuller Albright

Albright, Fuller, and Edward Conrad Reifenstein. The Parathyroid Glands and Metabolic Bone Disease; Selected Studies. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 1948. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip