Searching in a database using subject headings allows you to look for categories instead of keywords. Subject terms are searched for only in the subject field. When the record for an item is created, it is assigned, or tagged, with at least one subject heading. These subject headings are based on a pre-defined vocabulary in which all items determined to be about the same subject are given the same subject heading regardless of the term used by the author.
Subject headings can be really useful if you are looking for information that may be represented by a term that has many meanings and can occur in various contexts (e.g. “management”).
Here are some useful subject headings for use when searching the MEDLINE database:
- Health facility administrators
- Hospital administration
- Health services administration
- "Delivery of health care"
- Financial management
- Financial management, hospital
- Personnel management
- Contract services
- Comprehensive health care
- Risk management
- Risk assessment
- Quality improvement
- Quality assurance, health care
- "Quality of health care"
- Hospital information systems
- "Diffusion of innovation"
- Organizational innovation
- Innovation as keyword
If you can't locate a subject term that matches your concept, try a keyword search, and then search again using the subject headings attached to the references you retrieved.
You can also attach a sub-heading to your subject heading, which will narrow your search. Some useful sub-headings that may be available for a sujbect heading in MEDLINE are:
- legislation and jurisprudence
- organization and adminsitration
- staitstics and numerical data
- supply and distribution
Journal Articles & Databases at OHSU
Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com.liboff.ohsu.edu) searches specifically for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, manuscripts in preparation, working papers and many other document types.
Remember, Google's goal is "to organize the world's information and make it universally accessible and useful," but researchers need to learn to critically evaluate research materials.
Some Google Scholar Tips:
Save your search to re-run later
Just copy the URL at the top of Google Scholar search results page and save it for later use.
Search the ‘cited by’ articles
By clicking on the “cited by” link under a citation, you can check to see what articles cited your article of interest, and then search that collection for your terms.
Create alerts to keep up with new research on your topic
On the left side of the search results page, click on the “Create alert” link, and follow the instructions to have alerts sent to you via email.
Cutomize Google Scholar for use with your citation mananger
You can also set your preferences on the Scholar Settings page to add a link to your citation manager (EndNote,RefWorks, Zotero, etc.) under "Bibliographic Manager", so that each citation will have a "Import into" link as well.
Customize Google Scholar to show OHSU full text content (not necessary on campus)
When you do a search in Google Scholar, you get a list of citations. You'll also get links to the full text if the article is from an open access journal, if the researcher posted the article on her/his website or if you’ve configured your Google Scholar settings to show OHSU content (see below). If you're on campus, Google Scholar will identify your IP address and automatically show you links to OHSU content.
From the Scholar Settings page, choose "Library Links":
Then search for, and add, "Oregon Health and Science University".
Now your search results will inlcude the "Find it at OHSU" link to full text if the OHSU Library subscribes to that journal electronically (example below).
Journals by Subject at OHSU
Click on a link below to run a search in the library catalog for a journal on that subject. These are just some examples of subject searches for journals, and not by any means all that is available.
- Last Updated: Jun 20, 2018 1:24 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ohsu.edu/business
- Print Page