The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) released the Directory and Repository of Educational Assessment Measures (DREAM) on MedEdPORTAL as a resource for health professions education assessments prior to 2016. Each DREAM publication includes an assessment instrument and a peer-reviewed critical analysis of the literature surrounding the use of the instrument.
Collection of 50 instruments that can be refined by who is being studied, the type of instrument, the content being assessed, and the access requirements to use the instrument.
The ADAI Library was located at the University of Washington and collects research and scientific literature on alcohol and other drug use from all relevant disciplines. Instruments were found by name or acronym, developer, descriptors, and words in the abstract. Descriptive and psychometric information was provided, and some instruments in the public domain can be freely downloaded from the web. It is currently in the process of being archived, and much of it can be viewed at the link from the list below.
A database by Mapi Research Trust containing over 5,700 clinical outcome assessment tools, as well as related guidelines, services, and drugs with clinical outcome assessment claims. Some of the information is provided free of charge, however, some might require a subscription. Submitting requests to use questionnaires is always free; but using selected questionnaires may require a licensing fee.
This compendium provides researchers and prevention specialists with a set of assessment tools with demonstrated reliability and validity for measuring the self-reported incidence and prevalence of Intimate Partner Violence victimization and perpetration. Although the compendium includes more than 20 scales, it is not intended to be an exhaustive listing of available measures. The information is presented to help researchers and practitioners make informed decisions when choosing scales to use in their work.
This compendium provides researchers and prevention specialists with a set of tools to assess violence-related beliefs, behaviors, and influences, as well as to evaluate programs to prevent youth violence. If you are new to the field of youth violence prevention and unfamiliar with available measures, you may find this compendium to be particularly useful. If you are an experienced researcher, this compendium may serve as a resource to identify additional measures to assess the factors associated with violence among youths.
Over its 40-year history, RAND Health has produced many practical surveys and tools. Many are available below, organized by topic.
Formerly the Stanford Patient Education Research Center, the Self-Management Resource Center under Dr. Kate Lorig has about 20 years of experience developing, adapting, and testing self-administered scales in English and Spanish and French for research participants with chronic diseases. These scales are here for you to use in your own research at no cost, thanks to funding from the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR).
A free database funded by NIDRR with over 400 assessments in the field of rehabilitation and physical medicine to help providers evaluate outcomes and measure patient progress. It is widely used for determining benchmarks in focus areas including musculoskeletal and neurological conditions, spinal cord injuries, and more.
GEM is a dynamic, interactive website that contains behavioral and social science measures organized by theoretical constructs. Registered teams can search for a construct (e.g., anxiety, depression), see a definition of the construct, view its associated theoretical foundation, and download different measures of the construct. The user can also search for a measure and see attributes of that measure (e.g., definition, target population, author, reliability, validity), including the associated construct.
The DASS is a 42-item self report instrument designed to measure the three related negative emotional states of depression, anxiety and tension/stress. The DASS questionnaire is in the public domain and may be downloaded from this website.
This is a 10-item tool created by Dr. Morris Rosenberg at the University of Michigan focusing on the measurement of self-worth. It is in the public domain and is a commonly used tool in the social sciences for evaluating the concept of self-esteem on a Likert scale.